Skip to main content

Public Health: Databases

Database Help

Database Tutorials and User Guides

  • Provides links to how-to information for nine of our most frequently used databases - Pubmed, Embase, Scopus etc - as well as EndNote.

HSLS Databases A to Z

University Library System (ULS) Databases

  • Browse by subject or title for databases relevant to public health

 

Core Databases for Public Health

PubMed

Articles from journals in all areas of medicine and the health sciences as well as articles from related life sciences journals.

MEDLINE 

Articles from the worldwide biomedical literature.  Ovid divides the database up into the following segments:

Embase.com

Worldwide literature on biomedical and pharmaceutical sciences.

Google Scholar

Multi-discipline, scholarly literature Internet search engine.

Core Databases for Public Health

Oxford bibliographies online. Public health / editor in chief: Lawrence W. Green.

Offers authoritative research guides across a wide variety of subjects, combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.

Scopus

Scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature from peer-reviewed journals. Searchable by topic or by citation, allowing one to identify articles that cite a particular article or author.

Web of Science

Identifies articles from scholarly journals in all disciplines. Searchable by topic or by citation, allowing one to identify articles that cite a particular article or author.

Global Health

Articles, books, reports, dissertations, and other information about all aspects of international public health.

The Health Sciences Library System supports the Health Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh.

© 1996 - 2014 Health Sciences Library System, University of Pittsburgh. All rights reserved.
Contact the Webmaster

University of Pittsburgh Libraries