Skip to main content

Locating Tests for Measuring Health: Other Resources

Why Use PITTCat?

PITTCat is the online catalog of the University of Pittsburgh and includes availability information for journals, books, and other materials held in all University of Pittsburgh libraries—not just in Oakland, but in the regional campus libraries as well.

A Select List of Library Books & Journals on Measurement contains authoritative resources that can be located in PITTCat.

Searching PITTCat

To search PITTCat for resources on measurement, use the "Guided Search" feature. For instructions on how to perform a guided search, watch this brief video.

For a list of relevant measurement keywords to use in PittCat, see Sample Measurement Keywords.

Resources with Links to Full-Text Measurement Instruments

Health-Related Quality of Life (HRQOL)

  • Includes HRQOL measures used in CDC's Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
  • Downloadable test instruments and scoring instructions provided
  • Background information, publications from HRQOL data

Health Measures

  • Includes four systems: PROMIS, Neuro-QoL, ASCQ-Me, and  NIH Toolbox
  • Includes patient-reported outcomes for clinical research and practice
  • Measures of physical, mental, and social health, symptoms, well-being and life satisfaction; sensory, motor, and cognitive function are included

Rand Health: Surveys

  • Rand health surveys are free to download and use
  • Health, healthcare, and homelessness topics are included

PQDT

  • Full text open access dissertations and theses from ProQuest
  • Many include measurement instruments

NDLTD: Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations

  • Catalog with links to sources of dissertations and theses from the universities participating in the Electronic Theses and Dissertations (ETD) program
  • Many include measurement instruments

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences

  • Presents a list 139 books that compile measurement instruments
  • Provides a searchable Refworks catalog of records for each instrument from the included books
  • Use the WorldCat link in each record to see if Pitt owns the book
  • Last updated in 2014

Web Sites with Links to Measurement Information

American Psychological Association: FAQ/Finding Information about Psychological Tests

  • Advice on finding published and unpublished psychological measures

Buros Center for Testing: Test Reviews Online

  • Online catalog of reviews of tests
  • Full text of reviews available to purchase
  • For more inclusive information, use the Mental Measurements Yearbook database

TestLink

  • ETS provides a catalog of tests you can purchase through ETS, through publishers, and tests in books and journals.
  • Order tests through the "Order a Test" feature

AHRQ National Quality Measures Clearinghouse

  • Browse collection by domain, setting or MeSH heading

National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR)

The Health Sciences Library System supports the Health Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh.

© 1996 - 2014 Health Sciences Library System, University of Pittsburgh. All rights reserved.
Contact the Webmaster

University of Pittsburgh Libraries