Skip to main content

EndNote: EndNote vs. Mendeley

Endnote vs. Mendeley

Last reviewed February 2019

EndNote and Mendeley are comparable on some but not all major features. Choose based on those most important to you.

EndNote Mendeley
Overview         Product homepage EndNote.com Mendeley.com
Library help guides

EndNote (HSLS)

EndNote @ Pitt (ULS)

Mendeley @ Pitt (ULS)
Access Ubiquitous access to your references                             References available on computers that have access to your library and the EndNote desktop program installed. EndNote Online provides web access to your references, but can only be synched with one library at a time. Available wherever you have web access and on computers with Mendeley Desktop installed, which can be synched with Mendeley web account.
Finding and working with references Search databases directly from product. (Note: Alternative for either product is to search databases directly, then import search results. This is a more effective, powerful way to search.) Yes. Search free resources such as PubMed and PittCat plus many HSLS subscription resources (such as Ovid) directly from within EndNote. No, but can look up a known item by DOI, PMID or ArXiv ID.  
Download references easily from PubMed search  Yes. Download <= 200 citations using PubMed's Citation Manager option. Download > 200 citation by creating a .txt file and importing it into EndNote. Yes. Download <= 200 citations using Mendeley Web importer. Download > 200 citations using Mendeley's drag and drop feature.
PMCIDs included in citation records Yes. No. 
Detection and removal of duplicate citations Yes, using user criteria to define duplicates. Removal can be done automatically or manually. Yes, but does not allow for duplicate criteria to be set by user. Note: Mendeley has a built-in process to detect and remove any duplicates within an imported file; this feature cannot be turned off. 
Formatting Works with Word to insert formatted citations into your document Yes, using Cite While You Write feature in Word. This is included in the default EndNote installation configuration. Yes, using the MS Word Plugin, which can be installed from the Mendeley Desktop program.
Edit existing citation styles or create your own Yes. Can also download additional styles from EndNote. Yes (using CSL Editor), but more challenging than EndNote.
PDFs PDF storage capacity Not limited by program itself, though your computer or server may have limited storage capacity.

Users with a free Mendeley account are allocated 2 GB private storage and 100 MB shared storage.

Automatic renaming of stored PDFs Yes. You can tell EndNote to automatically rename downloaded PDFs using your choice of elements (such as author, year, title). Yes. In the desktop version saved documents can be renamed using standard fields: title, journal, author, and/or year.
Find full-text Yes. No. 
Sharing Built-in feature for sharing references with others Yes. You can sync and share one library with other EndNote users, share groups using EndNote online, or create a compressed library to share. Yes, using Mendeley groups feature you can create either a public or private group.
Includes research discovery tools No.   Yes. Mendeley’s searchable research catalog is a crowd sourced database of citations aggregated from the uploaded documents of Mendeley users. The catalog includes "related research" links. 
Includes social networking features No.  Yes.  When you sign up for a Mendeley account, a researcher profile is automatically created which can then be followed by other researchers. Public groups also allow for crowd sourced contributions/discussion on a topic.
Accessibility Features for accessibility ADA compliant; see the report from EndNote for details. Does not work with screen readers; does allow users to enlarge text and to change settings to high contrast.

The Health Sciences Library System supports the Health Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh.

© 1996 - 2014 Health Sciences Library System, University of Pittsburgh. All rights reserved.
Contact the Webmaster

University of Pittsburgh Libraries