Produced by: US Center for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Dates of coverage: 1999 to 2016
Geographic coverage: National level
Description: Uses data from the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), an annual survey from the CDC
Resources include:
- 4th National Report (Released March 2021)
Produced by: Toxicology Excellence for Risk Assessment
Dates of coverage: Most current data available, updated monthly
Geographic coverage: Not applicable
Description: Contains data from multiple national, international, and independent parties offering peer reviewed risk values
Resources include:
Produced by: US Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry
Dates of coverage: Most current data available
Geographic coverage: Not applicable
Description: Uses data from the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), an annual survey from the CDC
Resources include:
- Substances A-Z
- ToxFAQs
- Provides a summary of information found in Substances A-Z
- Available in multiple languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Haitian, Korean, Portuguese, Spanish, Vietnamese
- Health Effects of Exposure to Substances with information on select chemicals
- Chemical Classifications (chemicals according to their structure, properties, or use)
- Resources for Toxicological and Health Professionals
- Toxicological Profiles: Characterizes the toxicologic and adverse health effects information for a hazardous substance.
- Public Health Statements: Each statement is comprised of the first chapter of the Toxicological Profile for that chemical and serves as a summary for that complete Toxicological Profile.
- ToxGuides: Quick reference guide providing information such as chemical and physical properties, sources of exposure, routes of exposure, minimal risk levels, children's health, and health effects for a substance.
- Priority List of Hazardous Substances: Prioritization of substances based on a combination of their frequency, toxicity, and potential for human exposure at National Priorities List (NPL) sites.
- Minimal Risk Levels (MRL): Estimates of the daily human exposure to a hazardous substance that is likely to be without appreciable risk of adverse, non-cancer health effects over a specified duration of exposure.
- Framework for Assessing Health Impacts of Multiple Chemicals and Other Stressors: Guidance for assessment of joint toxicity of environmental chemicals to determine whether exposure to chemical mixtures may impact public health.
- Interaction Profiles: Characterizes the toxicologic and adverse health effects information for mixtures of hazardous substances.
- Medical Management Guidelines for Chemical Agents
- Priority Data Needs: The priority data needs represent essential information to improve the database for conducting public health assessments.
- ToxZine: Summary of health effects, exposure, and recommendations in an easy-to-read magazine format
Produced by: US National Institutes of Health National Toxicology Program
Dates of coverage: October 2014 to current day
Geographic coverage: Local, State and National level
Description: The Report on Carcinogens is a congressionally mandated, science-based, public health document that NTP prepares for the HHS Secretary. This cumulative report currently includes 248 listings of agents, substances, mixtures, and exposure circumstances that are known or reasonably anticipated to cause cancer in humans.
National Toxicology Program: Data & Resources (US NIH)TP makes a wide variety of data and resources available to researchers and the general public. This page includes links to NTP study data (including Data Downloads, Data Tables for Peer Review, and Chemical Effects in Biological Systems), as well as various resources devoted to pathology and test-method development.
Immediately Dangerous To Life or Health (IDLH) (US NIOSH) ValuesThe Immediately dangerous to life or health air concentration values (IDLH values) developed by the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH) characterize these high-risk exposure concentrations and conditions and are used as a component of respirator selection criteria first developed in the mid-1970s. IDLH values are established (1) to ensure that the worker can escape from a given contaminated environment in the event of failure of the respiratory protection equipment and (2) to indicate a maximum level above which only a highly reliable breathing apparatus, providing maximum worker protection, is permitted.
Table of IDLH Values (US NIOSH)This page contains links to all chemicals in the list.
The US Environmental Protection Agency provides health and environmental information on specific chemicals found as a result of base closures, during Superfund clean-ups, and/or related to Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA).
Emerging Contaminants and Federal Facility Contaminants of Concern (US EPA)EPA published the following technical fact sheets, which provide brief summaries of contaminants of concern that present unique issues and challenges to the environmental community and EPA at contaminated federal facility sites. Each fact sheet provides a brief summary of the contaminant, including physical and chemical properties, environmental and health impacts, existing federal and state guidelines, and detection and treatment methods. These fact sheets are intended for project managers and field personnel to use when addressing specific contaminants at cleanup sites and are updated annually to include timely information.
Integrated Risk Information System (IRIS) (US EPA)See more to view the IRIS assessments for the toxicity values for health effects resulting from chronic exposure to chemicals.
Reference Concentration (RfC): An estimate (with uncertainty spanning perhaps an order of magnitude) of a continuous inhalation exposure to the human population (including sensitive subgroups) that is likely to be without an appreciable risk of deleterious effects during a lifetime.
Reference Dose (RfD): An estimate (with uncertainty spanning perhaps an order of magnitude) of a daily oral exposure to the human population (including sensitive subgroups) that is likely to be without an appreciable risk of deleterious effects during a lifetime.
Cancer descriptors characterize the chemical as:
Carcinogenic to Humans
Likely to Be Carcinogenic to Humans
Suggestive Evidence of Carcinogenic Potential
Inadequate Information to Assess Carcinogenic Potential
Not Likely to Be Carcinogenic to Humans
TRI Background Documents for Persistent, Bioaccumulative, and Toxic (PBT) Chemicals (US EPA)EPA is providing background information to the public for each of the five PBT chemicals. These use documents provide a preliminary summary of available information collected by EPA on the manufacturing (including importing), processing, distribution in commerce, use, and disposal of each chemical. This is based on existing data available to EPA, including information collected under the Chemical Data Reporting rule, information from other Agency databases, other U.S. Government agencies, publicly available information from states, and a review of published literature.
CompTOX Dashboard (US EPA)This resource is a compilation of information sourced from many sites, databases and sources including U.S. Federal and state sources and international bodies that saves the user time by providing information in one location. The data are not reviewed by USEPA – the user must apply judgment in use of the information.
New Jersey is the home of many petrochemical plants. The Right to Know Hazardous Substance Facts Sheets have been developed for the consumer.
Right to Know Hazardous Substance Fact Sheets (NJ Department of Health)The Fact Sheets are prepared for substances on the New Jersey Right to Know Hazardous Substance List. More than 1,600 Fact Sheets have been completed and more than 900 have been translated into Spanish. The Fact Sheets are prepared on pure substances and contain information on health hazards, exposure limits, personal protective equipment, proper handling, first aid, and emergency procedures for fires and spills
The National Library of Medicine (part of the National Institutes of Health) has developed a strong collection of resources that focus on the effects of chemicals on our health.
PubChem (US NLM)PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). It contains the Hazardous Substances Databases (HSDB).
TOXLINE in PubMedThis links to the toxicology subset of the PubMed database. A search is started:
tox [subset] AND
You need to fill after AND
For example:
tox [subset] AND coal dust AND mortality
To see how it works, copy the above search and paste into PubMed.
Environmental Health (US National Library of Medline)For consumers, this page is from the excellent MedlinePlus collection. MedlinePlus takes the guesswork out of trying to determine if the information is reliable and the source authoritative. They have done the evaluation work for you!
Salud Ambiental (US National Library of Medicine)Environmental health from Medline Plus in Spanish.
Haz-Map® is an occupational health database designed for health and safety professionals and for consumers seeking information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents. The main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases. These links have been established using current scientific evidence.
Haz-Map shows the diseases linked to each agent and the agents linked to each disease. Agents are chemical such as formaldehyde, or biological such as grain dust. Haz-Map links jobs and hazardous job tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms.
In Haz-Map, chronic occupational diseases are linked to both jobs and industries, while acute diseases and infectious diseases are linked only to jobs. Cancers are not linked to jobs, industries or findings.
The information in Haz-Map comes from textbooks, journal articles, the Documentation of the Threshold Limit Values (published by ACGIH), and electronic databases such as NLM's ChemIDplus. The author of Haz-Map is Jay A. Brown, MD, MPH, Board Certified in Occupational Medicine.
Disclosing chemical ingredients in products provides essential information throughout the supply chain from raw material supplier to consumers. Information about the ingredients of products and their health effects allow consumers to make better informed choices. The development of this database was initiated in 1994 by DeLima Associates of McLean, Virginia, USA in response to a need for a database (identified by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention), that related household product types, brand names, chemical constituents, health-related information (acute and chronic effects and target organs), and exposure minimization techniques. This database is currently supported by the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), U.S. Public Health Service, Department of Health & Human Services.
LiverTox® provides up-to-date, unbiased and easily accessed information on the diagnosis, cause, frequency, clinical patterns and management of liver injury attributable to prescription and nonprescription medications and selected herbal and dietary supplements. The LiverTox site is meant as a resource for both physicians and patients as well as for clinical academicians and researchers who specialize in idiosyncratic drug induced hepatotoxicity.