Environmental Data

National Response Center

Produced by: US Coast Guard
Dates of coverage: 1990 to most current
Geographic coverage: Local, State and National level
About: The National Response Center (NRC) is a reporting agency for pollution and railroad incidents. Reports are forwarded to appropriate federal/state agencies for response. The spreadsheets posted to the NRC website contain INITIAL incident data that has not been validated or investigated by a federal/state response agency.

•  (MS Excel)
•  (MS Excel)
•  (MS Excel)
•  (MS Excel)
•  (MS Excel)
•  (MS Excel)
•  (MS Excel)
• All reports

Pipeline Data & Statistics Overview

Produced by: US Department of Transportation, Pipeline & Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
Dates of coverage: Data varies by report
Geographic coverage: Local, State and National level
About: Pipeline & Hazardous Materials Safety Administration  "is the federal safety authority for ensuring the safe, reliable, and environmentally sound operations of our nation's pipeline transportation system."

The following reports come from this agency and includes reports on pipelines throughout the country as well as serious/significant incidents.

• All State (Combined) Pipeline Incidents
  • • Serious Incidents include a fatality or injury requiring in-patient hospitalization. From 2004 forward, gas distribution incidents caused by a nearby fire or explosion that impact the pipeline system are excluded.
  • • Significant incidents are those including any of the following conditions, but gas distribution incidents caused by a nearby fire or explosion that impacted the pipeline system are excluded: Fatality or injury requiring in-patient hospitalization; $50,000 or more in total costs, measured in 1984 dollars; Highly volatile liquid releases of 5 barrels or more or other liquid releases of 50 barrels or more; Liquid releases resulting in an unintentional fire or explosion
  • ALL REPORTED INCIDENT 20 YEAR TREND
    • Includes all reports submitted to PHMSA. Changes to PHMSA reporting regulations have caused large shifts in the trend line.
  • • Since 2005, incident reports classify each fatality, injury, and cost as either Public or Pipeline Industry.
• Individual State Pages: Pipeline Incidents
  • Choose your state of interest from the left side menu. Below is an example using Pennsylvania
    • SERIOUS INCIDENT 20 YEAR TREND
    • ALL REPORTED INCIDENT 20 YEAR TREND
    • ​​​​​​​Pennsylvania pipeline profile: 20 year incident trends
    • Pennsylvania pipeline profile: mileage and facilities
    • Pennsylvania pipeline profile: enforcement data
    • Pennsylvania State Pipeline Safety Program Performance Metrics
• Pipeline Mileage & Facilities Data Visualization (PDFs)
  • Gas Transmission and Hazardous Liquid Pipelines in the United States
  • Natural Gas Pipeline Systems: From the Wellhead to the Consumer
  • Hazardous Liquid Pipeline Systems: From the Wellhead to the Consumer
  • LNG Plants Connected to Natural Gas Pipeline Systems
  • LNG Plants Connected to Natural Gas Pipeline Systems (Eastern Region)
  • Gas Transmission Incident Heat Map
  • Gas Transmission Incident Heat Map with Pipelines
  • Gas Transmission Incident Heat Map with Incident Points
  • Hazardous Liquid Accident Heat Map
  • Hazardous Liquid Accident Heat Map with Pipelines
  • Hazardous Liquid Accident Heat Map with Accident Points
• Pipeline Mileage & Facilities
  • Pipeline Mileage & Facilities (2010 to most current)
    • Since 1970, PHMSA has collected data about pipeline infrastructure from operators. The annual report formats have changed several times over the years. Since 2010, PHMSA has collected mileage data for five pipeline system types.
  • Annual Report Data Access (1970 to most current; MS Excel)
    • Mile and facility data submitted to PHMSA on annual reports from pipeline operators
  • Annual Report Summary
    • Annual Report Mileage Summary Statistics

Storage Tank Cleanup Program

Produced by: Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection
Dates of coverage: 1989 to most current
Geographic coverage: Local level

• Storage Tank Cleanup Locations
  • "This report represents confirmed release incidents that have been reported to DEP since enactment of the Storage Tank and Spill Prevention Act (Tank Act) in July, 1989. These release incidents represent leaks, spills and overfills which have occurred from storage tank systems regulated by the Tank Act only. Releases from home heating oil tanks, which are not regulated by the Tank Act, are not part of this list. "

Public Health Assessments & Consultations 

Produced by: US Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry
Dates of coverage: 2003 to most current available
Geographic coverage: Local, State and National level
About: The following reports are extremely granular, meaning that these investigate facilities, dumps, parks, etc. to determine if there is a health risk.

• Select reports by state
• Pennsylvania Public Health Assessments & Consultations
• Public Health Assessments & Consultations: Search by text 
  • You can search for a publication by entering a criteria in the search box. The search will look for all matches within:
    • Document Title
    • EPA / CERCLA number
    • City, County or Zip Code