The Air We Breathe

Air pollution isn't just one thing so there are multiple reports covering multiple data sets. 

This page links to atypical sources of air pollution data that might not be covered under air quality, toxic releases, or other areas.

Smell PGH 

Produced by: Smell PGH
Dates of coverage: June 2016 to most current available
Geographic coverage: Allegheny County, PA
About: Smell PGH crowdsources smell reports so we can track how pollutants travel through the air across Pittsburgh. Data is available through the site. To add to the data, you will need to add an app from either the Apple Store or Google Play.

• Download Smell Report Data for Allegheny County (CSV)

Air Quality Data Collected at Outdoor Monitors Across the US

Produced by: US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Dates of coverage: 2007 to most current available
Geographic coverage: Local, State and National level

• Monitor Values Report- Hazardous Air Pollutants 

  • Displays air pollution measurements collected by thousands of monitoring sites throughout the United States
  • Tracks 42 Core HAPs (minus unverified acrolein) plus others from the list of the 30 urban air toxics
  • The report shows a yearly summary of the measurements at individual monitors and descriptive information about the sites.

National Atmospheric Deposition Program (NADP) 

Produced by: National Atmospheric Deposition Program
About: NADP monitors precipitation chemistry. It is a cooperative effort between many different groups, including federal, state, tribal and local governmental agencies, educational institutions, private companies, and non-governmental agencies.

• NATIONAL TRENDS NETWORK (NTN)
  • The NTN provides a long-term record of the acids, nutrients, and base cations in U.S. precipitation.
  • Learn more about the NTN
• MERCURY DEPOSITION NETWORK (MDN)
  • The MDN provides data on the geographic distributions and trends of mercury in precipitation.
  • Learn more about the MDN
• AMMONIA MONITORING NETWORK (AMON)
  • The AMON measures air concentration of ammonia using passive monitors
  • Learn more about the AMoN
• ATMOSPHERIC MERCURY NETWORK (AMNET)
  • The AMNet reports atmospheric mercury concentrations for determination of mercury dry deposition.
  • Learn more about the AMNet
• MERCURY LITTERFALL NETWORK (MLN)
  • The MLN provides an estimate of an important component of mercury dry deposition to a forested landscape.
    • Learn more about the MLN

​​​​​​PA Bureau of Air Quality

Produced by: PA Department of Environmental Protection
Geographic coverage: Local level
Dates of coverage: Varies

• Monitoring Topics
  • Acid Rain and Mercury Sites and Data
  • ​Principal Pollutants
    • Discreet Data Reports
  • Toxic Pollutants
    • Toxic Pollutant Source Categories
    • Toxic Monitoring Sites in Pennsylvania
  • Air Quality Partnership
    • Ozone/PM2.5 Forecasts
      • Historical Tally of Forecasts by Color Code
      • Forecast calendar by date/location
• PA Ambient Air Monitoring Data Reports (continuous monitoring)
  • Latest Hourly Data: Updated 15 minutes after the hour
  • Daily Site Detail: View all 1 hour average data for a site by day
  • Monthly Parameter Detail: View a parameter for a site by month
  • Parameter Comparison: Compare 1-hour data for a parameter from all sites by day
  • Ranked Averages: Listing of maximum 1-hour, 8-hour, 24-hour data averages
• Discrete Data Reports (manual sampling)
  • Data for lead and PM2.5

​​​​​​PA Department of Environmental Protections

Produced by: PA Department of Environmental Protection
Geographic coverage: Local level
Dates of coverage: Varies

• Data and Tools
  • Air Quality Reports
    • Air Emissions Program Facilities
      • ​​​​​​Listing of DEP Air Quality facilities included in the annual point-source emissions inventory program
    • Air Permit Search for Title V and State Only Operating Permits
      • A search utility providing access by region, county, municipality, NAICS, permit type, and facility to DEP's currently issued Air Quality operating permit documents
    • Air Emission Report
      • ​​​​​​​Self-reported emissions data consisting of information submitted to the Department by sources subject to reporting under 25 Pa. Code § 135.3
    • NESHAP Demolition and Asbestos Notifications
      • ​​​​​​​A search utility providing access by date, name, county, municipality and address for all online notifications received by DEP since March 9, 2018. 
• Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Mapping Tools
  • Open Data Portal: Air Quality