Skip to main content

HSLS for SHRS: HSLS Resources

Introduction to HSLS

HSLS has access to many resources that can assist you in your research process. Each resource serves a different purpose and includes different material and information. 

Some things to keep in mind as you search: 

  • Is the resource user friendly with useful features?
  • How current is the information?
  • What is included in the resource? Books, articles, clinical summaries, drug information, etc.

Select resources are highlighted below.

UptoDate

Follow the instructions on the Library's Mobile Apps page to create an account and download the UpToDate App on your mobile device. 

UptoDate
  • You are searching clinical topic reviews written by experts with cited references to primary literature.
  • Also included in this resource are patient information materials and drug information.

Cochrane Library

Click on the "Databases A-Z list" on the HSLS Website and go to Cochrane library. Click on the access link.

Cochrane Library
On the results page: tabs across the top allow you to filter by Cochrane Systematic Reviews, clinical trials, etc.

E-book Full Text

Click on "E-Book Full Text" on the Library's Website.

eBook full text
  • E-Book Full Text is searching the full text of over 1000 e-books.
  • Sometimes the title of the book might not seem pertinent but there might be a chapter devoted to your topic.
  • Use the topic clusters on the right of the results page to narrow results as needed.

Google Scholar

Go to Google Scholar.  Make sure the default “Articles” is selected. 

Google Scholar
  • By default the results will be sorted by relevance, this can be changed to “by date” as well.
  • Each result in Google Scholar will link to “cited by” articles and related articles. The number of times an article is cited in the literature is also given. 

Finding Full Text

The Health Sciences Library System’s dark blue link takes you directly to the full text if HSLS has a subscription to the e-journal. If the full text is not linked, you will see a Search PITTCat for the Health Sciences link. The PITTCat link may lead to the online version of resources for which full-text linking is not available. If the library does not have the article, you can request a copy through the HSLS Document Delivery Service.

Ask a Librarian

Have any more questions? Please don't hesitate to contact us at Ask a Librarian!

RICIS librarian photos

The Health Sciences Library System supports the Health Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh.

© 1996 - 2020 Health Sciences Library System, University of Pittsburgh. All rights reserved.
Contact the Webmaster

University of Pittsburgh Libraries