Skip to main content

Cancer Data & Vital Statistics: Sources for cancer data

This guide points to sources of cancer data with a focus on Pennsylvania.

Cancer Incidence & Prevalence Resources

Pennsylvania logoCancer Statistics Dashboard 
Produced by: Pennsylvania Department of Health
Geographic coverage: County, state, and health service regions level
Dates of coverage: 2000 to app 3 years ago

Web Query Tool
Geographic coverage: County, micro statistical area, metro statistical area, health service region, and state level
Dates of coverage: 1995 to 2009

State Cancer Profiles
Produced by: National Cancer Institute
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 1975 to most current available

 

 

SMART: Selected Metropolitan/Micropolitan Area Risk Trends (BRFSS)
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Area (MMSA)-- Amarillo; Austin-Round Rock; Brownsville-Harlingen; Dallas-Plano-Irving; Del Rio; El Paso; Fort Worth-Arlington; Houston-Sugar Land-Baytown; Laredo; Lubbock; McAllen-Edinburg-Mission; Midland; San Antonio; Tyler; Wichita Falls
Dates of coverage: 2002 to 2010

Cancer Mortality Maps (National Cancer Institute)
Produced by: National Cancer Institute
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 1950 to 2004

Includes: More for 35 cancers, including brain and ONS, esophagus, breast, lung and bronchus cervical, leukemia, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, ovarian, thyroid, and stomach.

 

Cancer Mortality

State Cancer Profiles
Produced by: National Cancer Institute
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 1975 to most current available

 

 

SMART: Selected Metropolitan/Micropolitan Area Risk Trends (BRFSS)
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Area (MMSA)-- Amarillo; Austin-Round Rock; Brownsville-Harlingen; Dallas-Plano-Irving; Del Rio; El Paso; Fort Worth-Arlington; Houston-Sugar Land-Baytown; Laredo; Lubbock; McAllen-Edinburg-Mission; Midland; San Antonio; Tyler; Wichita Falls
Dates of coverage: 2002 to 2010

Cancer Mortality Maps (National Cancer Institute)
Produced by: National Cancer Institute
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 1950 to 2004

Includes: More for 35 cancers, including brain and ONS, esophagus, breast, lung and bronchus cervical, leukemia, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, ovarian, thyroid, and stomach.

 

The Health Sciences Library System supports the Health Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh.

© 1996 - 2020 Health Sciences Library System, University of Pittsburgh. All rights reserved.
Contact the Webmaster

University of Pittsburgh Libraries