Skip to main content

Cancer Data & Vital Statistics: All Cause Mortality Data

This guide points to sources of cancer data with a focus on Pennsylvania.

Mortality Data Resources

Underlying Cause of Death (CDC Wonder)
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: County level

Includes: Mortality from underlying cause of death, i.e. single cause of death.

Other Information: Interactive database; mortality and population counts for all U.S. counties for the years listed. Report variables include underlying cause of death, state, county, age, race, sex, and year.

Mortality [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 1999 to most current available

Mortality [ICD-9]
Dates of coverage: 1979 to 1998

Mortality [ICD-8]
Dates of coverage: 1968 to 1978

Multiple Cause of Death (CDC Wonder)
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: County level

Includes: Mortality from multiple causes of death. Data by race, not ethnicity (i.e. Hispanics not counted separately)

Other Information: Interactive database; report variables include gender, county, or age as well as by disease and year; age-adjusted standards for 1940, 1970, and 2000.

Mortality [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 1999 to  most current available

Mortality [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 1994 to 2004  

Linked Birth & Infant Deaths
Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Geographic coverage: County level

Includes: Mortality from underlying cause of death

Other Information: Counts and rates for deaths of children under 1 year of age, occurring within the United States to U.S. residents. Information from death certificates has been linked to corresponding birth certificates. Report variables include: county of mother's residence, child's age, underlying cause of death, gender, birth weight, birth plurality, birth order, gestational age at birth, period of prenatal care, maternal race and ethnicity, maternal age, maternal education and marital status.

Linked birth & infant death records [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 2007 to current 

Linked birth & infant death records [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 2003 to 2006

Linked birth & infant death records [ICD-10]
Dates of coverage: 1999 to 2002

Linked birth & infant death records [ICD-9]
Dates of coverage: 1995 to 1998

State Inpatient Database from HCUP
Produced by: US Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage: 2007 to 1-2 years ago

Select: Data appears to be limited for Pennsylvania. However, this is useful if you want data for another state or you have hospital or claims data for a state and want to compare nationally.

Other Information: See the description of the State Inpatient Database to learn more about data elements in the SID as well as how the SID can be used.

Key to the Pennsylvania symbol

 This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Pennsylvania.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Pennsylvania.

The Health Sciences Library System supports the Health Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh.

© 1996 - 2020 Health Sciences Library System, University of Pittsburgh. All rights reserved.
Contact the Webmaster

University of Pittsburgh Libraries