Skip to main content

Cancer Data & Vital Statistics: Birth defects

This guide points to sources of cancer data with a focus on Pennsylvania.

Births Defects Data Resources

HCUPnet Hospitalizations
Produced by: US Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage:  1997 through current

Retrieve national data for Congenital Anomalies (ICD-9 740+) or Cogenital Malformations (ICD-10 Q00-Q99)

Choose Create a New Analysis to build a data table.

 

National Birth Defects Prevention Network 
Produced by: NBDPN
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage: Annual publication

All states have profiles at this site; the data is typically gathered from state birth defects registries. As of November 15, 2019, the most current report is from 2012. The profiles are an overview rather than an attempt to provide any in-depth local information.

They also have an Annual Reports series that is published in Birth Defects Research.

PeriStats
Produced by: March of Dimes
Geographic coverage: State level;
Dates of coverage:

Use the site search box to look for "birth defects" pennsylvania

It's not perfect but there are some reports that will pop up.  A list of some them is found to the left.  Unfortunately it doesn't appear to be very easy to retrieve birth defects reports by using the select topic tool at the PeriStats site.

Key to the Pennsylvania symbol

 This symbol indicates that the resource provides data only for Pennsylvania.

If there is no symbol, the resource provides data for all US states including Pennsylvania.

The Health Sciences Library System supports the Health Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh.

© 1996 - 2020 Health Sciences Library System, University of Pittsburgh. All rights reserved.
Contact the Webmaster

University of Pittsburgh Libraries