Dental Hygiene Portal: Library Resources
A database is a collection of information that is organized so that the information can be easily searched and retrieved, and so that the information can be managed and updated. To find a list of databases to which you will have access through HSLS, go to Databases A-Z.
Here are 2 databases that are most frequently used to find dental hygiene articles and other resources.
- PubMed is a database that searches biomedical literature.
- Scopus is a database that identifies scientific, technical, medical, and social sciences literature from peer-reviewed journals.
E-journals A-Z - A list of e-journals available at HSLS arranged alphabetically.
E-journals by subject - A list of e-journals arranged by subject.
Dentistry Journals - A link to dentistry e-journals available at HSLS.
A couple of journals specifically focused on dental hygiene are:
PittCat for the Health Sciences
PittCat is a catalog of resources at Pitt's libraries. You can search by title, author, subject heading or keyword. You can find out if the library owns a resource and how it can be accessed.
If you need to find the full-text of a journal article, you can do so using PittCat.
What if the library doesn't own a resource? HSLS Document Delivery Service provides scholarly health sciences materials including journal articles, book chapters, and print based resources that are unavailable in the HSLS collection.
This is a selection of print books that are available at the library. You can browse the shelves or search PittCat for additional titles.