Social & Behavioral Determinants of Health Data

See also Employment & Labor.

See also Population Data.

Census Data: Business/Economic Topics

Produced by: US Census Bureau 
Geographic coverage: Local, County, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2000 to current
Instructions: Each topic below accesses all available tables for that specific topic. IF the table you select uses ACS 1-Year Estimates AND you want to view neighborhood-level data (by Census tract, ZIP Code approximations, etc.), change the product used (to the left of CUSTOMIZE TABLE, upper right) to ACS 5-Year Estimates. Click on CUSTOMIZE TABLE to modify the geography. Examples and exercises that provide additional instruction from the July 2021 class have been posted online in a separate document.

• Business and Economy: Economic data from across the entire U.S. economy on a monthly, quarterly, yearly, and five-year basis.
  • Business and Owner Characteristics
    • Age of Business
    • Class of Customer
    • Employment Size
    • Franchise Status
    • Legal Form of Organization
    • Other Business Characteristics
    • Other Owner Characteristics
    • Owner Race and Ethnicity
    • Owner Sex
    • Owner Veterans Status
    • Receipt Size
    • Tax Status
  • Expenses and Expenditures
    • Capital Expenditures
    • Detailed Operating Expenses
    • First Quarter Payroll
    • Payroll
  • Inventories
    • Inventories Subject to LIFO
    • Inventories by Valuation Method
    • Total Inventories
    • Work-in-Process Inventories
  • Sales, Shipments, and Production
    • Exported Sales/Services
    • Value of Sales, Receipts, Revenue, or Shipments
    • e-Commerce Sales
  • Small Business
    • Concentration Ratio
    • Establishments
    • Single Unit/Multi-Unit Firms
    • With Payroll
    • Without Payroll

On the Map

Produced by: US Census Bureau
Geographic coverage: Local level
Dates of coverage: 2002 to present
About: Online mapping and reporting application showing where workers are employed, workforce investment areas, types of jobs, and more.

Local Area Personal Income

• Produced by: US Bureau of Economic Analysis
• Geographic coverage: County level
• Dates of coverage: 1969 to current
• Regional Areas Interactive tables
• Select: At the Web site, select one of the series titles first to specify the Detailed county annual table.
• Includes: Personal income and population summary estimates; Detailed county annual income and employment tables by NAICS industry; Detailed county annual tables of income and employment by SIC industry, transfer payments, farm income and expenses; and Wage and salary summary estimates.
• Other Information: This is an interactive Web site. At the final report, get definitions by clicking on the question mark next to each line.

Purchasing Power Profiles

• Produced by: University of Wisconsin Milwaukee
• Geographic coverage: Census tract, zip code, and MSA level
• Dates of coverage: 2000 and 2002
• Select: At the Web site, select one of the following: 1) Purchasing Power by Census Tracts for custom made printouts of purchasing power for 16 retail categories and data on the workforce population for any U.S. census tract; 2)Purchasing Power by ZIP Code for data on retail expenditures for 16 consumer areas, retail and business establishments, and the available workforce for all residential zip codes in the U.S.; 3) Purchasing Power Rankings for Top 100 Metro Areas for ZIP code rankings of each of the 16 retail expenditure categories for the 100 largest metro areas; 4) Free Geographic Databases for shapefiles and business, household, and workforce census databases to help map your area; 5) Maps of Purchasing Power for Food-at-Home and Apparel to download free maps of purchasing power for the top 100 metro areas in the U.S.; 6) Urban Markets Retail Sales Leakage/Surplus Drill Downs to show the difference between each metro neighborhood's purchasing power and estimated retail sales.
• Includes: Spending for major retail expenditure categories, recognizing the density advantages of many lower-income central city neighborhoods that are typically ignored by national marketing firm data
• Other Information: This is an interactive Web site.

Income Limits

• Produced by: US Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
• Geographic coverage: MSA and county level
• Dates of coverage: 1990 to current
• Select: At the HUD site, select the year you would like to view. Click on Texas, then open the PDF file.
• Includes: These reports show the income limits for housing assistance as set forth by Section 3 of the U.S. Housing Act of 1937. Assistance is based on a formula which defines low income and very low income. 
• Other Information: Each MSA shown indicates 30% of median, very low income, and low income.

Quarterly Workforce Indicators

• Produced by: US Census Bureau
• Geographic coverage: Workforce investment areas, metro/micropolitan areas, counties, states
• Dates of coverage: 2011 to current
• Select: Click on the X-axis and Y-axis to select geography variables as well as workforce descriptors.
• Includes: Statistics on employment, job creation, turnover, and earnings by industry, age and sex.
• Other Information: Interactive database

Occupational Employment Statistics

• Produced by: US Bureau of Labor Statistics
• Geographic coverage: Metropolitan Statistical Area level
• Dates of coverage: 1997 to present
• Includes: Number of persons estimated to be in that profession, median hourly wage, mean hourly wage, and mean annual wage.
• Other Information: Click on the job code for a comparison to national data, other states, and other MSAs.