Skip to Main Content

Social & Behavioral Determinants of Health Data

Educational Attainment

Census Data: Education Reports

Produced by: US Census Bureau 
Geographic coverage: Varies by report
Dates of coverage: 2000 to current
About the Census Bureau report: This pulls up all available reports, including educational attainment, enrollment by schools, place of birth by education, and much more. But getting to data for specific neighborhoods requires a few steps.

  1. Click on the report you want.
  2. Next screen, click Customize Table upper right above table.
  3. Click on Geos to specify geography.
  4. State data is available from the 1-year ACS report to view neighborhood data:
    1. Above the tool menu bar is an option to select Product.
      • Change to ACS 5-year Estimates Subject Tables.
    2. Click Tract, Elementary School District, etc.
    3. Click Pennsylvania.
    4. Select the COUNTY you want.
    5. Choose the Census tracts you want; click Close (lower right).
      • Not sure which Census tracts you need? Select 1 or 2 tracts, then click Close (lower right).
      • Click Maps (left side above Filter / Download).
      • You will need to zoom out and move the map to the right.
        • It always goes to Kansas.
        • Find Pennsylvania, then zoom in and recenter the map as necessary.
      • Select and deselect Census tracts from here.
      • In the upper left below the Census Bureau icon, click the Tables to view the data.

National Center for Education Statistics 

Produced by: National Center for Education Statistics
Geographic coverage: Individual schools (public and private) level and state level
Dates of coverage: 1987 to present
Data resources:

  • Explore data by indicator subgroups
    • Choose one of the subgroups:
      • Age; Age group; Educational attainment; Grade level/Student level; Parental education; Race/ethnicity; Sexual identity; Socioeconomic status (SES); Years of school experience

Education & Schools Data

Census Data: Education Reports

Produced by: US Census Bureau 
Geographic coverage: Varies by report
Dates of coverage: 2000 to current
About the Census Bureau report: This pulls up all available reports, including educational attainment, enrollment by schools, place of birth by education, and much more. But getting to data for specific neighborhoods requires a few steps.

  1. Click on the report you want.
  2. Next screen, click Customize Table upper right above table.
  3. Click on Geos to specify geography.
  4. State data is available from the 1-year ACS report to view neighborhood data:
    1. Above the tool menu bar is an option to select Product.
      • Change to ACS 5-year Estimates Subject Tables.
    2. Click Tract, Elementary School District, etc.
    3. Click Pennsylvania.
    4. Select the COUNTY you want.
    5. Choose the Census tracts you want; click Close (lower right).
      • Not sure which Census tracts you need? Select 1 or 2 tracts, then click Close (lower right).
      • Click Maps (left side above Filter / Download).
      • You will need to zoom out and move the map to the right.
        • It always goes to Kansas.
        • Find Pennsylvania, then zoom in and recenter the map as necessary.
      • Select and deselect Census tracts from here.
      • In the upper left below the Census Bureau icon, click the Tables to view the data.

National Center for Education Statistics 

Produced by: National Center for Education Statistics
Geographic coverage: Individual schools (public and private) level and state level
Dates of coverage: 1987 to present
Data resources:

Nation's Report Card

Produced by: National Assessment of Educational Progress
Geographic coverage: Jurisdiction
Dates of coverage: 1969 to present
About: The Nation's Report Card  "first administered in 1969, is the largest continuing and nationally representative assessment of what our nation’s students know and can do in subjects such as mathematics, reading, science, and writing. Standard administration practices are implemented to provide a common measure of student achievement." 

SAT Program participation and performance statistics

Produced by: CollegeBoard
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage: 1998 to current

Annual Survey of School System Finances

Produced by: Census Bureau
Geographic coverage: Individual schools level and state level
Dates of coverage: 1992 to current

Select: In the menu of Years Available, select the year you would like to see. On the next page, select the type of report you want.

Includes: Revenues, expenditures on salaries, expenditures on support services, outstanding debt, and more.

Other Information: These are large files and are in either Excel, SAS, or comma-delineated format. If you are unfamiliar with the software needed to view these files, you may need assistance after retrieving the data.

Data for individual colleges & universities

Tips for finding data for a specific college or university,

  1. Consider visiting the Web site to look for data.
    1. Access to the data will vary by institution.
    2. First, look for About. 
    3. You may need to conduct a site search. Try fact book, factbook, facts figures, annual report, student statistics, admission statistics
    4. If that doesn't work, try visiting Student Admissions on the school web site to look for reports.
    5. If that doesn't work, go to the web page of the college president.