Social & Behavioral Determinants of Health Data

See also Economic Indicators.

See also Population Data.

Census Data: Employment Topics

Produced by: US Census Bureau 
Geographic coverage: Local, County, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2000 to current
Instructions: Each topic below accesses all available tables for that specific topic. IF the table you select uses ACS 1-Year Estimates AND you want to view neighborhood-level data (by Census tract, ZIP Code approximations, etc.), change the product used (to the left of CUSTOMIZE TABLE, upper right) to ACS 5-Year Estimates. Click on CUSTOMIZE TABLE to modify the geography. Examples and exercises that provide additional instruction from the July 2021 class have been posted online in a separate document.

• Employment: Data on the state of the nation's workforce, including employment and unemployment levels, weeks and hours worked, occupations, and commuting
  • Class of Worker
  • Commuting
  • Employment & Labor Force Status
  • Industry
  • Occupation
  • Work Experience
    • Employment History
    • Full Time or Part Time
    • Temporary or Permanent

Quarterly Workforce Indicators

• Produced by: US Census Bureau
• Geographic coverage: Workforce investment areas, metro/micropolitan areas, counties, states
• Dates of coverage: 2011 to current
• Select: Click on the X-axis and Y-axis to select geography variables as well as workforce descriptors.
• Includes: Statistics on employment, job creation, turnover, and earnings by industry, age and sex.
• Other Information: Interactive database

Occupational Employment Static Tables

Produced by: US Bureau of Labor Statistics
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan & nonmetropolitan, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: 1997 to present
Includes: Number of persons estimated to be in that profession, median hourly wage, mean hourly wage, and mean annual wage.

On the Map

Produced by: US Census Bureau
Geographic coverage: Local level
Dates of coverage: 2002 to present
About: Online mapping and reporting application showing where workers are employed, workforce investment areas, types of jobs, and more.

Overview of BLS Statistics on Unemployment

Produced by: US Bureau of Labor Statistics, Dept. of Labor
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan, County, and State level
Dates of Coverage: 1976 to most current

• Mid-Atlantic Economic Summaries
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Maryland
  • Pennsylvania
    • Pennsylvania Graphed Unemployment Data
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia

This list is fairly comprehensive.

• Mid-Atlantic Economic Summaries
• Occupational Employment Statistics
  • Includes occupational profiles, estimates by industry, region, and ownership, dating from 1997 to most current.

Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey

This site links to multiple publications with current and historical data including:

• All about employment
• All about unemployment
• All about hours of work
• Absences
• Annual labor market summary
• Alternative measures (U1-U6)
• Computer and Internet use
• Contingent workers
• Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic
• Discouraged workers
• Displaced workers
• Electronically mediated employment
• Employed persons
• Full- and part-time status
• Hours of work
• Involuntary part-time workers
• Labor force
• Labor force status flows
• Multiple jobholders
• Not in the labor force
• Occupation and industry
• Self-employed persons
• Summer work
• Tenure
• UI applicants and recipients
• Unemployment
• Union members
• Work at home
• Work experience
• Work schedules
• Worklife estimates

Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics

Produced by: Bureau of Labor Statistics
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan Statistical Area level, State, and National
Dates of coverage: 1997 to most current; data compiled in May
Includes: Number of persons estimated to be in that profession, median hourly wage, mean hourly wage, and mean annual wage.

Other Information: Click on the job code for a comparison to national data, other states, and other MSAs.

May 2020 Data

• Occupation Profiles
• National  (HTML)(XLS)
• State (HTML) (XLS)
• Metropolitan and nonmetropolitan area (HTML) (XLS)
• National industry-specific and by ownership (HTML) (XLS)
• All data (XLS) (TXT)
• Research estimates by state and industry
• Additional OES data sets
• Featured Tables