Produced by: Medicare (US Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services)
Geographic coverage: Hospitals, nursing homes, other healthcare facilities
Dates of coverage: most current data available
Focus on: CMS Quality Measures (see the CMS Measures Inventory which is a compilation of measures used by CMS in various quality, reporting and payment programs.
Includes: Surgical Infection Prevention, Heart Attack, Heart Failure, and Pneumonia, including Rate of readmission & death rate.
Produced by: The Leapfrog Group
Geographic coverage: Hospital and surgery center level data
About: About the ratings and Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Produced by: The Leapfrog Group
Geographic coverage: Hospital level data; regional data
Dates of coverage: data appears to be compiled using 2 years of most current data available
About: What is patient safety?
Produced by: The Joint Commission
Geographic coverage: Facility level: Ambulatory, hospital, home health, laboratory, behavioral
About: About Quality Check
The Joint Commission has had a longstanding commitment to providing meaningful information about the comparative performance of accredited organizations to the public. In 1994, The Joint Commission first published organization-specific Performance Reports. In 1996, Quality Check®, a directory of Joint Commission accredited organizations and performance reports, became available on the website.
Produced by: US Agency for Healthcare Research Quality
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage: 2016 & 2018; 2021 currently in progress
Produced by: Dartmouth (US) Medical School
Geographic coverage: Hospital level
Dates of coverage: Varies, but generally 2015 to more current
About: The Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care uses Medicare and Medicaid data to provide information and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as hospitals and their affiliated physicians.