Skip to Main Content

Tests and Measures

The books listed on this page are all available online and focus on psychometrics.

Why these links?

Many of the resources on this page point to longitudinal surveys done at the Federal level. These surveys can be helpful in 2 primary ways:

  1. Use them to survey a smaller population on specific behaviors and have easy access to comparable data for a larger population;
  2. Use them to guide you as you develop a questionnaire.

Risk behavior surveys

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: State level and MMSA level data
Dates of coverage:  1995 through current
About: BRFSS is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services.
Data resources: 


Youth Risk Behavioral Surveillance System (YRBSS)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: Local school district, select cities, State, and National level data
Dates of coverage:  2009 through most current available
About: YRBSS is a system of surveys that tracks six categories of health-related behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability.
Data resources: 


Tobacco Free Kids State Reports

Produced by: Campaign for Tobacco-Free Kids
Geographic coverage: State
Dates of coverage:  Varies
Data reports: 


SAMHSA Data Resources

Produced by: US Department of Health & Human Services Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Geographic coverage: State level, National level
Dates of coverage: 1993 to 1-2 years ago