Skip to Main Content

HSLS Systematic Review Program

A Protocol is Required and Will Be Peer Reviewed

Thinking about submitting a request for assistance with a systematic review? Please read about our requirements for submission.

Thinking About Conducting a Systematic Review? Watch These Videos First

Watch these short videos to understand the issues you'll need to think through before you undertake one of these complex and time-intensive research projects.

Setting Expectations for a Systematic Review

Determine if a Systematic Review is Feasible (part 1)

Determine if a Systematic Review is Feasible (part 2)

PowerPoint versions of part 1 and part 2 (includes clickable links to supporting materials)

How HSLS Librarians Can Help

Assistance during the development stage

  • Find existing systematic reviews on your topic

  • Recommend literature databases and grey literature sources

  • Develop search-related sections of the protocol

  • Provide recommendations on management of references

Searching expertise

  • Construct the primary literature search and translating it for use in additional databases

  • Find and use validated methodology filters

  • Save searches so they are available for updating search results

Documentation

  • Save and document search strings and search strategies in accordance with PRISMA Standards

Acquisition of full text articles

  • Provide advice and guidance on accessing full text resources in University of Pittsburgh library collections

  • Advise on use of HSLS Document Delivery to obtain items not available from university collections

Inclusion as co-author on project publications

  • Planning and creating comprehensive search strategies constitutes a scholarly contribution

  • Assist in manuscript preparation, including development of sections on information sources and final search strategies

  • Provide input and recommendations on journal choice and drafts of papers and abstracts

Request Assistance with a Systematic Review

Complete this form. Please note:

  • You must submit a detailed protocol within thirty (30) days of submitting your request for assistance
  • Your protocol will be reviewed by HSLS librarians and you will likely be required to make revisions
  • The HSLS SR Program may decline a request for assistance due to limited librarian availability, concerns about project feasibility, or failure to address reviewer comments or requests for revision