Skip to main content

Finding Free Health Sciences Literature: Clinical Resources

drawn black and white image of two pillsNeed clinical resources?

There are free, reliable sources available to help you make clinical decisions.


Clinical eCompanion logo

Clinical eCompanion was created by HSLS to aggregate information from freely available trusted sources. The Drug Info tab allows you to search Daily Med as well as find drug interaction information, identify pills, and get information on dietary supplements. Patient Education takes you to MedlinePlus and HealthReach, while you can search for free full text in the PubMed tab. There are also screening guidelines and a search box for finding further medical information. 


 

HealthReach Logo

HealthReach provides patient education in various formats (PDF, video, audio) and in different languages. Search by ailment, issue, or language. You can also select the format you want.

Need more multilingual resources? Check this guide from NNLM MAR.


 

MedlinePlus logo

MedlinePlus is a patient-friendly resource that comes from the National Library of Medicine. Written in accessible language, it is searchable by disease, drugs, and more; it also includes information on doctor-ordered tests. The site can be accessed in English or Spanish.


 

If you need to identify an unknown drug, Pillbox can help. Search by shape, color, imprint, ingredients, or a combination. Pillbox will return images to help you identify the pill(s) you're looking for, and also provides links to further drug information on both Daily Med and the Drug Information Portal.  


 

Daily Med logo

DailyMed is a searchable drug database that includes drug label information, adverse events and recalls, and whether the drug is safe for breastfeeding mothers. It also links to further information in MedlinePlus, PubMed, and ongoing and completed clinical trials. 


 

LactMed logo

LactMed is a database that provides information on the effects of specific drugs and chemicals on breast milk and breastfeeding infants. Each record provides a summary as well as links to the literature and potential alternative drugs to consider.

Note there is also a LactMed app for iPhone/Android


 

The Health Sciences Library System supports the Health Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh.

© 1996 - 2020 Health Sciences Library System, University of Pittsburgh. All rights reserved.
Contact the Webmaster

University of Pittsburgh Libraries