Frameworks and standards
Maternal Health Unit
Published by: World Health Organization
Service delivery with quality
- Community engagement
- Integrating stakeholder and community engagement in quality of care initiatives for maternal, newborn and child health
- A module to guide policy makers and programme implementers working in Quality Improvement in Maternal, Newborn and Child Health to support making comprehensive and meaningful stakeholder and community engagement an integral part of quality improvement initiatives
- A module to guide policy makers and programme implementers working in Quality Improvement in Maternal, Newborn and Child Health to support making comprehensive and meaningful stakeholder and community engagement an integral part of quality improvement initiatives
- Tools to support the integration of stakeholder and community engagement in quality of care initiatives for maternal, newborn and child health
- A mapping exercise, conducted in 2018, gathered tools used by different organizations and governments to implement stakeholder and community engagement aligned to the QOC Network’s Implementation Guide. 70 tools were identified through the mapping. There are multiple tools to support each step of the Implementation Guide (figure on the right), with the majority of tools supporting more than one step.
- Integrating stakeholder and community engagement in quality of care initiatives for maternal, newborn and child health
- Strengthening quality midwifery education for Universal Health Coverage 2030: Framework for action
- Strengthening midwifery education to international standards is a key step to improving quality of care and reducing maternal and newborn mortality and morbidity. The Framework for Action to Strengthen Midwifery Education is a guide to develop high-quality, sustainable pre- and in-service education to save lives. It has been developed by WHO, UNFPA, UNICEF and ICM and includes a seven-step action plan for use by all stakeholders in maternal and newborn health.
Core Humanitarian Standard on Quality and Accountability
About: The Core Humanitarian Standard on Quality and Accountability (CHS) is a globally recognised voluntary standard that sets out Nine Commitments that organisations and individuals involved in humanitarian response can use to improve the quality and effectiveness of the assistance they provide.
Logframes (Logical frameworks)
Maternal projects-- management & success
Online articles: Most require Pitt login
- Saleem, Farida et al. “Public Health and Project Management: Do Projects Deliver?” International journal of environmental research and public health 17.19 (2020): 7244–.
- Maternal, newborn, and child health (MNCH) has remained an ever-concerning area for hospital management and researchers throughout the world. Nevertheless, in the literature, less attention is paid to developing countries. The current study identifies the problems faced by maternal newborn and child health projects at each phase.
- Eriksson, Leif et al. “Sustainability of Knowledge Implementation in a Low- and Middle- Income Context: Experiences from a Facilitation Project in Vietnam Targeting Maternal and Neonatal Health.” PloS one 12.8 (2017): e0182626–e0182626.
Online books
Project Management Best Practices: Achieving Global Excellence by ISBN: 9781118835609Publication Date: 2014-01-14Senior executives and project managers from more than 50 world-class companies offer their best practices for successful project management implementation The Third Edition offers insight from project managers and executives at more than fifty global companies in all sectors of the market. These industry-leading professionals offer insight and best practices for: Project risk management Project management for multinational cultures and cultural failures Focusing on value, as well as cost and schedule Integrated and virtual project teams
The AMA Handbook of Project Management by ISBN: 9781469069777Publication Date: 2019-03-05An essential resource presenting state-of-the-art theory and process of project management, The AMA Handbook of Project Management has long been considered the authoritative guide. Managing complex projects can stretch you to the limits. But with a book full of experts coaching you each step of the way, you'll never be baffled, blocked, or misdirected again. Packed with essays and insights from the field's top professionals, The AMA Handbook of Project Management is the resource professionals and students rely on for its practical guidance and big picture overview of the entire field: scheduling and budgeting, engaging stakeholders, measuring performance, managing multiple projects, resolving conflicts, using agile practices, and more. Whether you need advice keeping projects on track or help preparing for certification, this new edition explains every principle, process, and development. Revised to reflect the latest changes to A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®), the fifth edition includes new information on how to: - Close the strategy-implementation gap - Tap the power of digital transformation - Navigate M&A environments - Revise your methods for nonprofit settings - Keep pace with your evolving role - And more Packed with models, case studies, and in-depth solutions, this trusted guide helps you master the discipline, overcome obstacles, and fast track your projects and career.
Project Management for Healthcare by ISBN: 9780367252014Publication Date: 2020-02-11Project Management for Healthcare, Second Edition covers the significant changes in both the direction of healthcare and the direction of project management. The most significant change in healthcare is the prevalence of online data and the need for its protection. The book explains how data can be protected during a project's lifecycle. The most significant change in project management is Agile, and a new chapter covers how Agile can be applied to projects in healthcare. Exploring the discipline of project management from the perspective of the healthcare, the book dissects the project process and covers the management skills required to successfully manage a project. By defining a project to include the tools and techniques required, the book shows how to successfully deliver a project from identifying stakeholders and developing and gaining consensus on requirements to constructing a project plan. It also covers in detail the skills required to successfully manage project stakeholders and team members.
Strategic Decision Making for Successful Planning by ISBN: 9781003198062Publication Date: 2021-12-30Turbulence is not new to the business world. In fact, turbulence is increasing, and managers are seeing teams spinning their wheels. Management systems are in a state of crisis and operations are more complex. The old top-down operations mode no longer suffices. Today's businesses demand speed and increased accuracy, forcing everyone to re-evaluate chains of command and tear down the walls between functions. Amid the responsibilities of traditional management lies problem solving. The push is toward moving decision-making authority down the ladder to all levels. Managers are no longer equipped to or capable of making the number and variety of necessary decisions in a vacuum. The current mode is to have employees deal directly with workplace issues and take corrective action without complaint and without management involvement. Coping with this reality and preparation for these improvements in workplace problem solving requires interest and motivation. Strategic Decision Making for Successful Planning can facilitate this by demystifying and simplifying the process. The book bridges philosophy and theory and puts together a practical integration of all the tools necessary to get results from your investment of time, energy, and money. What is unique about this book is while it's based on a strong academic foundation, it does not get bogged down in the human-planning or psychological process of solving problems. It doesn't provide "pie-in-the-sky" creative solutions or a five-year process for solving problems and planning for the future. Numerous techniques and tools are included to make the book the right balance between practical and academic. The book also includes an extensive case study to illustrate points made in the text.
Project management articles
Project Management Articles
- Dilly CK, Klochan KA, Bosslet G. Project management tools for healthcare education. Clin Teach. 2021 Apr;18(2):109-114. doi: 10.1111/tct.13264. Epub 2020 Oct 15. PMID: 33058449. Requires Pitt login.
- The article is focused on healthcare education but it gives a very good overview of the basics of project management.
- The authors recommend AirTable, a free project management tool.
- Mikovic, Radmila et al. “The Integration of Social Capital and Knowledge Management – The Key Challenge for International Development and Cooperation Projects of Nonprofit Organizations.” International journal of project management 38.8 (2020): 515–533. Web. Requires Pitt login.
- Selsky, John W, and Barbara Parker. “Platforms for Cross-Sector Social Partnerships: Prospective Sensemaking Devices for Social Benefit.” Journal of business ethics 94.Suppl 1 (2010): 21–37. Web.
- Saleem, Farida et al. “Public Health and Project Management: Do Projects Deliver?” International journal of environmental research and public health 17.19 (2020): 7244–. Web.
- Maternal, newborn, and child health (MNCH) has remained an ever-concerning area for hospital management and researchers throughout the world. Nevertheless, in the literature, less attention is paid to developing countries. The current study identifies the problems faced by maternal newborn and child health projects at each phase.
Case studies
- Marquez, Lani Rice. Improving Health Care in Low- and Middle-Income Countries A Case Book. Ed. Lani Rice. Marquez. 1st ed. 2020. Cham: Springer International Publishing, 2020. Open access book
- See Chapter 9- Applying a Standards-Based Approach to Reduce Maternal Mortality and Improve Maternal and Neonatal Services in Mozambique
Budgeting resources
The following resources will provide guidance for budget development. Remember-- $1.5M over 3 years!
Budgets and project revisions
Produced by: UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs, Sudan Humanitarian Fund (SHF)
While this isn't about the Rohingya, the advice provided here is extremely useful when thinking about how you will divvy up the budget provided.
UN Trust Fund to End Violence Against Women
This agency has specific rules that partners must follow. For example, you cannot budget more than 40% of the grant in a single year and $10K must be allocated for capacity development and knowledge exchange activities. Not all agencies require this, but it is something to keep in mind as you develop your budgets.