LibGuides: School of Dental Medicine Portal: Welcome

Welcome to HSLS

Welcome to Pitt's Health Sciences Library System (HSLS)!

Falk Library is located at M722 Scaife Hall, 2550 Terrace Street. The main desk's phone number is 412-648-8866.

The library is normally open from 7am to midnight Monday through Thursday; 7am to 10pm Friday; 9:30am to 10pm Saturday; and 11am to midnight Sunday. These hours are subject to change based on University holidays and library construction, but you can always find the current hours on our website.

Of course, our online resources are available to you at any hour, every day of the year! To access HSLS library resources from off-campus, follow these steps:

From the HSLS home page, navigate to the e-resource you want to access.
Click on the e-resource’s link.
If the resource is restricted to members of the Pitt community, then you will be redirected to log in through Pitt Passport.
Enter your Pitt Computer Account username and password.
The e-resource is now ready to be used

For remote access to work correctly, your web browser must be set to accept cookies. You must also have a current Pitt computer account. For help with your computer account, call 412-624-4357 (available 24/7) or e-mail the CSSD Help Desk.

There is also a bookmarklet that you can add to your browser toolbar to allow you to reload a page via HSLS with just one click!

Getting Started with HSLS Resources

About Falk Library
HSLS Homepage
PittCat
The library catalog for resources at HSLS, the University Library System, and the Barco Law Library
Technology Services
HSLS provides self-service technology on site at Falk Library, including computers, scanners, printers, and large screen monitors. In-person help is available at the Technology Help Desk, located on the upper floor of the library.
Pitt Print Stations
Information about Pitt Print Stations; there is a print station located in Falk Library (3550 Terrace Street).
Wireless Access
Wireless internet access is available within Falk Library for individuals with an active Pitt account.
HSLS Classes and Instruction
Faculty librarians provide a wide variety of informational and instructional services to meet the needs of the university’s health sciences community.
Document Delivery
HSLS Document Delivery Service provides scholarly, health sciences materials including journal articles, book chapters and print based books that are unavailable in our collection.

Databases

A database is a collection of information that is organized so that the information can be easily searched and retrieved, and so that the information can be managed and updated. To find a list of databases to which you will have access through HSLS, go to our Databases A-Z list.

Here are some databases that are frequently used to find articles and other resources pertaining to dentistry and oral health:

PubMed is a database that searches biomedical literature.
- This guide has an entire page with more information about PubMed.
Web of Science is a database that identifies articles from scholarly journals in all disciplines.
The ADA provides a collection of Clinical Practice Guidelines and Dental Evidence.
CINAHL indexes thousands of journals in the fields of nursing and allied health (including dental hygiene), as well as books, conference proceedings, standards of practice, and educational materials.

Journals

E-journals A-Z - E-journals available at HSLS arranged alphabetically.

Dentistry Journals - Dentistry e-journals available at HSLS.

A couple of journals specifically focused on dental hygiene are:

PittCat

PittCat is a catalog of resources at Pitt's libraries. You can search by title, author, subject heading or keyword. You can find out if the library owns a resource and how it can be accessed.

What if the library doesn't own a resource? HSLS Document Delivery Service provides scholarly health sciences materials including journal articles, book chapters, and print based resources that are unavailable in the HSLS collection.