HealthCat is a catalog of resources at the HSDL. You can search by title, author, subject heading, or keyword. You can find out if the library owns a resource and how it can be accessed.
What if the library doesn't own a resource? Document Delivery Service provides scholarly health sciences materials, including journal articles, book chapters, other resources that are unavailable in the HSLS collection.
Discover our comprehensive range of eBook resources tailored for health professionals. You can browse our eBooks and eTextbooks by subject or access essential medical textbooks, educational materials, and clinical reference works through the following platforms:
A database is a collection of information that is organized so that the information can be easily searched and retrieved and so that the information can be managed and updated. To find a list of databases to which you can access through the HSDL, go to our Databases A-Z list.
Here are some databases that are frequently used to find articles and other resources for research projects:
Explore the extensive collection of journals available through our subscriptions. Easily search for journals by title or subject on the HSDL. Here is a list of some of our most popular and frequently accessed journals.
Are you having trouble finding an existing dataset that meets your needs? Are you unsure of how to best organize and manage your own data? HSLS Data Services offers support, consultations, and customized training for these and other data-related questions. Data Services also provides regular classes for which anyone in the Pitt Schools of the Health Sciences can register.
A citation manager is a tool that helps you to collect, organize, and cite references. For this reason, the term reference manager may also be used to describe such tools.
There are numerous citation managers out there, but at HSLS, we recommend choosing one of the following:
If you aren't sure which citation manager is best for you, please consult our comparison chart.
Note: Some software may require to be downloaded to use. Contact your local UPMC IT administrator for guidance.
We highly recommend that any resident/fellow sign up for one of our Painless PubMed classes. If you are a more experienced PubMed user, we also offer an Advanced PubMed class once a semester. Click here to see a full calendar of our class offerings!
These are some resources that can help you get started with PubMed right away:
Video tutorials: