Skip to main content

EndNote: EndNote vs. Mendeley vs. Sciwheel (F1000) vs. Zotero

Endnote, Mendeley, Sciwheel, or Zotero?

Last reviewed June 2020

EndNote, Mendeley, Sciwheel (formerly F1000 Workspace), and Zotero are comparable on some but not all major features. Choose based on those most important to you. Remember that they are all interoperable, so you can always switch to a new one!

 

EndNote Mendeley Sciwheel (F1000) Zotero
Website EndNote.com Mendeley.com f1000workspace.com zotero.org
Where to get it Pitt's Software Download Service mendeley.com HSLS A-Z Databases zotero.org
Library help guides

EndNote (HSLS)

EndNote @ Pitt (ULS)

Mendeley @ Pitt (ULS) F1000 Workspace (CSH Laboratory) What is Zotero? (NYU Libraries)
Access to your references                             References available on computers that have access to your library and the EndNote desktop program installed. EndNote Online provides web access to your references, but can only be synched with one library at a time. Available wherever you have web access and on computers with Mendeley Desktop installed, which can be synched with Mendeley web account. Web-based, so you can access your references as long as you have internet. Available wherever you have web access and on computers with the desktop application installed, which can be synched Zotero web library.
Cost Free for Pitt faculty, students. $50 for staff. Free up to 2GB storage. Pay for additional storage. Free for Pitt/UPMC Free up to 2GB storage

Search databases directly from the reference manager?

(Note: You can also search databases directly, then send your results to your reference manager.)

Yes. Search PubMed, PittCat, and many HSLS subscription resources (i.e. Web of Science) directly from within EndNote. No, but can look up a known item by DOI, PMID or ArXiv ID.   Using the Word plug-in search PubMed from inside Word. Can also look up articles via DOI, PMID, ISBN, or URL. No, but can look up a known item by ISBN, DOI, PMID, or ArXiv ID.  
Download references easily from PubMed search  Yes. Download <= 200 citations using PubMed's Citation Manager option. Download > 200 citation by creating a .txt file and importing it into EndNote. Yes. Download <= 200 citations using Mendeley Web importer. Download > 200 citations using Mendeley's drag and drop feature. Yes, use the browser plug-in to select articles. Yes. Download .nbib file type and import into Zotero OR use Zotero Connector (browser plug-in).
PMCIDs included in citation records Yes. No.  Yes. Yes.
Ability to find and remove duplicate citations? Yes, using user criteria to define duplicates. Removal can be done automatically or manually. Yes, but does not allow for duplicate criteria to be set by user. Mendeley has a built-in process to detect and remove any duplicates within an imported file; this feature cannot be turned off.  Yes, can find and merge duplicates. Yes, can find and merge duplicates.
Works with Word to insert formatted citations into your document? Yes, using Cite While You Write (CWYW) in Word. CWYW is automatically installed when you get EndNote. Yes, using the Word plug-in, which can be installed from the Mendeley Desktop program. Yes, using the Word plug-in. Yes, using the Word plug-in.
Works with Google Docs? Yes, as long as you also have Word. Drag and drop citations from EndNote desktop into your Google Doc. Then download as RTF, open in Word, and click update citations in the CWYW tab. No. Yes, a plug-in allows you to insert citations and search PubMed. Yes, Zotero Connector now includes Google Docs support for Chrome and Firefox.
Edit existing citation styles or create your own Yes. Can also download additional styles from EndNote. Yes (using CSL Editor), but more challenging than EndNote. Yes, using CSL. Yes, using CSL.
PDF storage capacity Not limited by program itself, though your computer or server may have limited storage capacity.

Users with a free Mendeley account are allocated 2 GB private storage and 100 MB shared storage.

Unlimited. Up to 2GB for free; paid account allow greater storage.
Automatic renaming of stored PDFs Yes. You can tell EndNote to automatically rename downloaded PDFs using your choice of elements (such as author, year, title). Yes. In the desktop version saved documents can be renamed using standard fields: title, journal, author, and/or year. No. PDFs are web-based, though you can download them from F1000 if you want. Yes, but only with the ZotFile plug-in.
Annotate PDFs? Yes. Yes. Yes (and webpages as well). No.
Find full-text Yes. No.  No. No.
Can you share references with others? Yes. You can sync and share one library with other EndNote users, share groups using EndNote online, or create a compressed library to share. Yes, using Mendeley groups you can create either a public or private group. Yes. Make a Shared Project and invite others. You can upload shared manuscripts and create shared notes as well. Yes, using Group Libraries.
Includes research discovery tools No.   Yes. Mendeley’s searchable research catalog is a database of citations crowd sourced from the uploaded documents of Mendeley users. The catalog includes "related research" links.  Yes, suggests articles on your dashboard. Also suggests citations in the Word plug-in. No.
Includes social networking features No.  Yes. When you sign up for a Mendeley account, a researcher profile is automatically created for you. Other researchers can follow your profile, and you can follow others. (You can also adjust your privacy settings.) Public groups allow for crowd sourced contributions/discussion on a topic. No. Yes. When you create an online account, you are given a profile. You can search for other people. Zotero.org also has very active forums for users.
Features for accessibility ADA compliant; see the report from EndNote for details. Does not work with screen readers; does allow users to enlarge text and to change settings to high contrast. Should work with browser accessibility add-ons. Works with screenreaders; allows users to enlarge text and use keyboard navigation. Additional free plug-ins are available to further enhance accessibility.

Still unsure? Feel free to Ask a Librarian or email rebekah.miller@pitt.edu.

The Health Sciences Library System supports the Health Sciences at the University of Pittsburgh.

© 1996 - 2020 Health Sciences Library System, University of Pittsburgh. All rights reserved.
Contact the Webmaster

University of Pittsburgh Libraries