Public Health Science Academy 2023

1. CDC. Antibiotic Resistance Threats in the United States, 2019. Vol. https://www.cdc.gov/drugresistance/pdf/threats-report/2019-ar-threats-report-508.pdf (2019).  

2. Smith TP, Thomas TJH, García-Carreras B, Sal S, Yvon-Durocher G, Bell T, Pawar S. Community-level respiration of prokaryotic microbes may rise with global warming. Nat Commun. 2019 Nov 12;10(1):5124. doi: 10.1038/s41467-019-13109-1. PMID: 31719536; PMCID: PMC6851113.

3. Antimicrobial Resistance Collaborators. Global burden of bacterial antimicrobial resistance in 2019: a systematic analysis. Lancet. 2022 Feb 12;399(10325):629-655. doi: 10.1016/S0140-6736(21)02724-0. Epub 2022 Jan 19. Erratum in: Lancet. 2022 Oct 1;400(10358):1102. PMID: 35065702; PMCID: PMC8841637. 

4. Kuhn JM, Di YP. Determination of Mutational Timing of Colistin-Resistance Genes through Klebsiella pneumoniae Evolution. Pharmaceutics. 2023 Jan 12;15(1):270. doi: 10.3390/pharmaceutics15010270. PMID: 36678901; PMCID: PMC9862994.

PubMed canned searches

Below are searches in PubMed for articles published in English . 

Search for antibiotic resistance + climate change published from 2000-2023

• This is what the search looks like:
  • (antimicrobial OR antibiotic* OR multidrug) AND (resistance) AND ("Climate Change"[MeSH Terms] OR "Climate Change"[TIAB ] OR "global warming"[TIAB ]) AND english[la] AND 2000:2023[dp]
    • Look at the use of OR and AND
    • OR is used when it doesn't matter which term is found
    • (parentheses) identify collections of terms to search for; OR is used within the (parentheses); AND combines what is found from each set of terms
  • 360+ items are found

Using "Cited by" in PubMed

If you find what looks to be a really good article, click on the title to go into the article record. On the right side is the page navigation for the article. Click on Cited by to retrieve other articles that cited the one you like. 

For example, the article below has been cited 15+ times in the PubMed database:

Burnham JP. Climate change and antibiotic resistance: a deadly combination. Ther Adv Infect Dis. 2021 Feb 15;8:2049936121991374. doi: 10.1177/2049936121991374. PMID: 33643652; PMCID: PMC7890742.

You have to scroll down below the list of "Cited by" items to click on the link to See all "Cited by" articles.

Online books

• Ahmed, Sarfraz et al. Biochemistry of Drug Resistance. Cham: Springer International Publishing AG, 2021. Print.
• Peptides for Health Benefits 2019. Basel, Switzerland: MDPI - Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute, 2020. Web. (Open access)
• Antimicrobials and Antimicrobial Resistance in the Environment. Basel, Switzerland: MDPI - Multidisciplinary Digital Publishing Institute, 2020. Web.
• Wang, Guangshun. Identification and Characterization of Antimicrobial Peptides with Therapeutic Potential. MDPI, 2017. Web. (Open access)
• LaPlante, K. L et al. Antimicrobial Stewardship: Principles and Practice. Oxford: CABI, 2017. Web.
• Epand, Richard M. Host Defense Peptides and Their Potential as Therapeutic Agents. Ed. Richard M. Epand. 1st ed. 2016. Cham: Springer International Publishing, 2016. Web.
• Harder, Jürgen., and Jens-M. Schröder. Antimicrobial Peptides Role in Human Health and Disease. Ed. Jürgen. Harder and Jens-M. Schröder. 1st ed. 2016. Cham: Springer International Publishing, 2016. Web.
• Manuela, Oliveira, Isa D. Serrano, and Amelia Fernandes. The Challenges of Antibiotic Resistance in the Development of New Therapeutics. Ed. Oliveira Manuela and Isa D. Serrano. Sharjah, United Arab Emirates: Bentham Science Publishers Ltd., 2015. 
• Phoenix, David A. et al. Novel Antimicrobial Agents and Strategies. Ed. David A. Phoenix, Frederick Harris, and Sarah R. Dennison. Weinheim, Germany: Wiley-VCH, 2015. 

Online book chapters

• Rice, L. B. “Mechanisms of Resistance to Antibacterial Agents.” Antimicrobial Stewardship: Principles and Practice. Wallingford, UK: CABI, 2017. 39–52. Web.
• Chowdhury, M. H, G Diamond, and L. K Ryan. “Synergy of Antimicrobial Peptides.” Antimicrobial Peptides: Discovery, Design and Novel Therapeutic Strategies. Wallingford, UK: CABI, 2017. 188–201. Web.
• Kaul, Grace et al. “Alternative Therapies to Antibiotics to Combat Drug-Resistant Bacterial Pathogens.” Antibacterial Drug Discovery to Combat MDR. Singapore: Springer Singapore, 2019. 193–212. Web.
• Ramachander Turaga, V. N. “Peptaibols: Antimicrobial Peptides from Fungi.” Bioactive Natural Products in Drug Discovery. Singapore: Springer Singapore, 2020. 713–730. Web.
• Lahiri, Dibyajit et al. “Biofilm and Antimicrobial Resistance.” Biofilm-Mediated Diseases: Causes and Controls. Singapore: Springer Singapore, 2021. 183–208. Web.

Antibiotic/Antimicrobial Resistance (AR/AMR)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention

• About antibiotic resistance
  • How antibiotic resistance happens
  • 5 things to know
  • COVID-19 and antibiotic resistance
• National infection & death rate
  • Antibiotic Resistance Threats in the United States, 2019 (PDF)
  • Tracking microbial resistance
  • Publications & apps with data

Antibiotic Resistance & Patient Safety Portal

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention

Global action plan on antimicrobial resistance (2015)

Produced by: The World Health Organization

Monitoring and evaluation of the global action plan on antimicrobial resistance (2019)

Produced by: The World Health Organization

Healthcare-associated Infections (HAI): Data Portal

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: Hospital level data
Dates of coverage: most current data available

• Current HAI Progress Reports
• Antibiotic Resistance & Patient Safety Portal
• HAI and Antibiotic Use Prevalence Survey
• Multi-site Gram-negative Surveillance Initative
• Invasive Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA/MSSA) Infection Tracking
• Reference Antimicrobial Susceptibility Testing (AST) Data
• Data Archive

Antimicrobial Resistance

Produced by: The World Health Organization
About: GLASS provides a standardized approach to the collection, analysis, interpretation and sharing of data by countries and seeks to actively support capacity building and monitor the status of existing and new national surveillance systems.

• Global Antimicrobial Resistance and Use Surveillance System (GLASS)
  • Routine surveillance
    • GLASS-AMR Module
      • Provides a standardized approach to the collection, analysis and sharing of national AMR data in samples collected routinely for clinical purposes for a set of pathogens that cause common bacterial infections in human
    • GLASS-AMC Module
      • Provides a common and standardized set of methods for measuring and reporting antimicrobial consumption (AMC) at country, regional and global levels
  • Focused surveillance
    • GLASS-EAR
      • Emerging AMR reporting (EAR) module, supports the timely detection, reporting, risk assessment and monitoring of emerging resistance
    • GLASS-FUNGI
      • Focuses on the surveillance of invasive fungal bloodstream infections caused by Candida spp.
  • Surveys and studies
    • EGASP
      • Enhanced approach to sentinel gonorrhoea surveillance of men with urethral discharge and suspected urogenital infections
    • One Health
      • Offers an integrated multi-sector surveillance programme based on the extended-spectrum beta-lactamase (ESBL)-Escherichia coli (‘Tricycle’) project
    • PPS-AMU
      • Proposes a method for the conduct of point prevalence surveys (PPS) of antibiotic use (AMU) at the hospital level
    • Burden
      • Presents studies estimating the public health impact of AMR