LibGuides: Undergraduate Medical Education Portal: Welcome

Welcome to HSLS

Welcome to Pitt's Health Sciences Library System (HSLS)!

Falk Library is located at M722 Alan Magee Scaife Hall, 3550 Terrace Street. The main desk's phone number is 412-648-8866.

The library is normally open from 7am to midnight Monday through Thursday; 7am to 10pm Friday; 9:30am to 10pm Saturday; and 11am to midnight Sunday. These hours are subject to change based on University holidays and library construction, but you can always find the current hours on our website.

Of course, our online resources are available to you at any hour, every day of the year! To access HSLS library resources from off-campus, follow these steps:

From the HSLS home page, navigate to the e-resource you want to access.
Click on the e-resource’s link.
If the resource is restricted to members of the Pitt community, then you will be redirected to log in through Pitt Passport.
Enter your Pitt Computer Account username and password.
The e-resource is now ready to be used

For remote access to work correctly, your web browser must be set to accept cookies. You must also have a current Pitt computer account. For help with your computer account, call 412-624-4357 (available 24/7) or e-mail the 24/7 IT Help Desk.

Getting Started with HSLS Resources

About Falk Library
Falk Library serves as the main health sciences library at the University of Pittsburgh, providing essential resources and services for health sciences students.
HSLS Homepage
The Health Sciences Library System homepage is your central portal to access all health sciences library resources, services, and information.
PittCat
PittCat is the University of Pittsburgh's comprehensive online catalog that allows you to search for books, journals, and other materials across all university libraries.
Technology Services
HSLS provides a variety of technology equipment at Falk Library, including computers, chargers, audiovisual equipment, interactive touchscreen displays in group study rooms, and support for printing, with both self-service options and borrowable items available at the Main Desk.
Pitt Self-Service Printing
PittPrint enables students to send documents from any device to campus print stations, retrievable using University ID or login credentials.
Wireless Access
Wireless internet is available through WIRELESS-PITTNET for Pitt affiliates, while visitors can connect through Pitt Guest Wi-Fi, Eduroam for academic visitors.
Learn@HSLS
Learn@HSLS provides access to library learning opportunities including live classes, self-paced learning modules created by HSLS instructors, and curated third-party educational resources recommended by library staff.
Document Delivery
HSLS Document Delivery Service provides scholarly, health sciences materials including journal articles, book chapters and print based books that are unavailable in our collection.

Databases

A database is a collection of information that is organized so that the information can be easily searched and retrieved and so that the information can be managed and updated. To find a list of databases to which you will have access through HSLS, go to our Databases A-Z list.

Here are some databases that are frequently used to find articles and other resources:

PubMed is a database primarily accessing the MEDLINE database of references and abstracts on life sciences and biomedical topics provided by the United States National Library of Medicine.
- This guide has an entire page with more information about PubMed.
Clinical Key is a clinical search engine that provides healthcare professionals with access to a large collection of medical resources, including journals, books, practice guidelines, and patient education materials
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions.