Births and Maternal & Child Health

See also Mortality Data for data resources that cover mortality in general.

Linked Birth & Infant Deaths (CDC WONDER)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: County, State, and National level data
Dates of coverage:  1995 through most current available
About: Linked Birth / Infant Death Records Data Description
Individual files:

• Linked Birth / Infant Death Records for 2017-2018 with ICD 10 codes (expanded)
  • Includes age of father; maternal characteristics, including: risk behaviors; her place of birth (by country and by state); and pregnancy history/prenatal care characteristics.
• Linked Birth / Infant Death Records, 2007-most current available with ICD 10 codes
• Linked Birth / Infant Death Records, 2003-2006 with ICD 10 codes
• Linked Birth / Infant Death Records, 1999-2002 with ICD 10 codes
• Linked Birth / Infant Death Records, 1995-1998 with ICD 9 codes (ICD-9)

Fetal Deaths (CDC WONDER)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: County, State, and National level data
Dates of coverage:  2005 through most current available
About: Fetal Deaths data description
Individual files:

• Fetal Deaths for 2014 - most current available (expanded)
• Fetal Deaths for 2005 - most current available

PeriStats

Produced by: March of Dimes
Geographic coverage: State, County, City level
Dates of coverage: Approximately the last decade
Instructions: You must choose a state to retrieve data, tables, maps, and more. 

Pennsylvania Mortality and Morbidity

• Infant mortality rates
  • by maternal age
  • by race
  • by race/ethnicity
• Age at infant death
  • Neonatal deaths
  • Postneonatal deaths
• % by age at death
• % by race/ethnicity
• Cause of infant death
  • birth defects
  • maternal complications
  • prematurity/lbw
  • Respiratory Distress Syndrome
  • SIDS
  • NTDs
• Perinatal mortality
  • by maternal age
  • by race
  • by race/ethnicity
• Late fetal mortality
  • by maternal age
  • by race
  • by race/ethnicity
• Severe Maternal Morbidity
• Maternal mortality

Infant Mortality (Kids Count)

Produced by: Center for Public Policy Priorities
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: Past decade

Infant Death Statistics (Enterprise Data Dissemination Informatics Exchange (EDDIE)

Produced by: Pennsylvania Department of Health
Dates of coverage: 1999 to most current
Geographic coverage: Municipality, County and State level
Description: About EDDIE 

• Interactive system
• Choose Vital Statistics to begin, then select Infant Deaths
• Data available by:
  • State
  • County
• Choose:
  • Table
  • Chart

Pennsylvania Infant Deaths Summary Reports

Produced by: Pennsylvania Department of Health
Geographic coverage: Municipality and State level
Dates of coverage: 1995 to 3 years ago

• Static reports, i.e. you cannot change the variables
• Summary data only

Pregnancy Mortality Surveillance System (PMSS)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: National level data
Dates of coverage:  1987 to most current available

• Trends in Pregnancy-Related Deaths
• Pregnancy Related Deaths by Race/Ethnicity
• Causes of Pregnancy-Related Deaths

PeriStats

Produced by: March of Dimes
Geographic coverage: State, County, City level
Dates of coverage: Approximately the last decade
Instructions: You must choose a state to retrieve data, tables, maps, and more. 

Pennsylvania Mortality and Morbidity

• Severe Maternal Morbidity
• Maternal mortality