Publicly Available Sources of Data for Health & Social Determinants of Health

This page links to general mortality statistics. Additional data sites and reports can be found by Cause of Illness and Infant, Maternal & Child Mortality.

Leading Causes of Death and Injury

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Dates of coverage: 1981 to most current available
Geographic coverage: State and National level
About: Visualizations of the cause of death at the state and national level. 

Multiple cause of death: All data files (CDC Wonder)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Dates of coverage: 1968 to most current available
Geographic coverage: County, State, and National level
Description: Multiple Cause of Death 
Individual files: 

• Multiple Cause of Death (ICD-10): 1999 to most current available 
• Multiple Cause of Death (ICD-10): 2005-2006 
• Multiple Cause of Death for the US-Mexico Border: 1999 to most current available
• Multiple Cause of Death ARCHIVE (ICD-10): 1999-2004 

Underlying Cause of Death: All data files (CDC WONDER)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Dates of coverage: 1968 to most current available
Geographic coverage: County, State and National level
Individual files:

• About Underlying Cause of Death data with race/ethnicity categories
  • Underlying Cause of Death by Bridged-Race Categories: 1999-2019
  • Underlying Cause of Death by Single-Race Categories: 2018-2019
• Compressed Mortality: 1968-2016
  • About Compressed Mortality
  • Underlying Cause of Death (ICD-10): 1999 to most current available
  • Underlying Cause of Death (ICD-9): 1979 to 1998 
  • Underlying Cause of Death (ICD-8): 1968 to 1978

National data for hospital, ambulatory, and emergency department mortality

Produced by: US Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality (AHRQ)
Geographic coverage: County level; State level
Dates of coverage: 2007 to 1-2 years ago

This is not an intuitive system to use!
To find hospital mortality data:

Create a New Analysis

1. Analysis Setup
   • Choose a setting of care
     • Inpatient  or Emergency
   • Choose how you would like to analyze data
     • Descriptive, Trends, or Rank Order
   • Choose a year
   • Do you want data on a specific diagnosis or procedure?
     • Yes, No 
   • Choose how you want to classify diagnoses or procedures
     • The options list varies depending on above choices
2. Use the left menu bar to open Outcomes and Measures; select Died.
   • Scroll down to Submit request.
   • Geographic setting--> Note: limited state data; choose National

Pennsylvania Death Statistics

Produced by: Pennsylvania Department of Health
Geographic coverage: Municipality, County, and State level
Dates of coverage: 2003 to most current available

• Static reports, i.e. you cannot change the variables
• Grouped by:
  • State/County Statistics
  • Municipality Statistics
  • Preliminary Statistics
  • Projection Statistics

Death Statistics (Enterprise Data Dissemination Informatics Exchange (EDDIE)

Produced by: Pennsylvania Department of Health
Dates of coverage: 2003 to most current
Geographic coverage: Municipality, County and State level
Description: About EDDIE 

• Interactive system
• Choose Vital Statistics to begin
  • Options are: Deaths and Infant Deaths
• Data available by:
  • County/State Statistics
  • Municipality Statistics
• Choose:
  • Table (County/State, Municipality)
  • Chart (County/State)
  • Map (County/State)