The mission of the HSLS Molecular Biology Information Service (MolBio) is to provide bioinformatics resources via software procurement, implementation, and training to assist biomedical scientists with solving their research questions. MolBio has supported Pitt researchers since 2002.
"The Health Sciences Core Research Facilities (HSCRF) were established through the Office of the Senior Vice Chancellor, Health Sciences in recognition of the vital role that centralized research resources play in the academic research enterprise. The technology required to perform innovative biomedical research changes rapidly and centralized research resources provide access to expertise, technology applications, and state-of-the-art instruments that are otherwise unavailable to most investigators.
Our research resource facilities include scientists and technicians who provide expert advice for study design, standard and custom applications and assist the investigator to take their project aims from conception to data production. The scientific leadership is available to work with you to adapt and apply methods appropriate to your scientific goals and ensure that the interpretation of the results is supported by the data."
HSCRF is focused primarily on supporting investigators at the University
NCBI is a center within the National Library of Medicine. They are responsible for biotechnology initiatives, including the ongoing development of the PubMed interface and algorithms.
NCBI has an extensive collection of genomic, genetic, and biomedical resources-- databases, datasets you can download, tools, and training. The above link goes to the main page or you can choose from the list below for links to resources for specific topics.
All of the databases listed below require you to login using your myPitt information.
While PubMed is often thought of (and rightfully so) as the premier biomedical literature research database, it isn't the only biomedical database. It is free, though, but not all of the articles found through PubMed will be freely available.
Embase includes some European research journals not indexed by PubMed. It also includes all citations from PubMed. However, I would strongly recommend searching it in lieu of PubMed or one of the other providers listed above.
This data database is searchable by topic, but I like to use it to see who has cited important articles, especially those published more than a few years ago. PubMed and Ovid Medline offer this feature, but it is limited to only those journals indexed by the 8,000 or so included journals.
We all know expensive it can be to buy books, right? But what if you could purchase a softcover version of an important genetics book for a nominal fee? SpringerLink has a program that allows you to purchase a copy of many of the books that Pitt has purchased.
HSLS and ULS have purchased a large number of genetics-related books.
Search for genetics ebooks at Pitt