About the Program
All of Us Research Program
The All of Us Research Program (AoURP), led by the National Institutes of Health, is a longitudinal cohort study aimed at advancing precision medicine and improving human health through partnering with one million or more diverse participants across the United States with an emphasis on reaching historically underrepresented populations in biomedical research.
The Researcher Workbench
A cloud-based platform where researchers can access AoURP-generated data. Its powerful tools support data analysis and collaboration. Researchers create workspaces to access, store and analyze data for specific research projects. Researchers with R or Python experience can perform high-powered queries and analysis within the AoU datasets using an integrated, cloud-based Jupyter Notebook environment.
Data Categories
To ensure the highest quality data collection, the All of Us Research Program employs a comprehensive data curation methodology that prepares data for use by registered researchers.
| Electronic Health Records (EHRs) | Participants have the option to share EHR data, which is standardized using the Observational Medical Outcomes Partnership (OMOP) Common Data Model (CDM). |
| Genomics | DNA is extracted via blood, urine, or saliva for subsequent genomic analysis. It includes short read whole genome sequencing data, long read whole genome sequencing data, and microarray genotyping array data. |
| Mobile Health Data | Biometric data like heart rate and blood pressure are tracked using wearable devices. |
| Physical Measurements | At the participant's first appointment, trained All of Us staff members measure and record information such as height, weight, BMI, waist and hip circumferences, blood pressure, heart rate, pregnancy status, and wheelchair use. |
| Surveys | The database features a total of eight surveys, with The Basics, Lifestyle, and Overall Health being the three primary ones. For more information about the additional surveys and to explore their content, please visit the Survey Explorer. |
Data Access Tiers
There are three distinct data access tiers available to All of Us researchers.
Public Tier: This tier contains only aggregate data with all identifiers removed, and counts less than 20 are suppressed to protect participant privacy. These data are available to everyone through Data Snapshots and the Data Browser, an interactive tool in the All of Us Research Hub that allows users to explore summary statistics and trends across the cohort.
Registered Tier: The curated dataset contains deidentified individual-level data, available only to approved researchers on the Researcher Workbench. The Registered Tier currently includes data from electronic health records (EHRs), wearables, and surveys, as well as physical measurements taken during participant enrollment.
Controlled Tier: The dataset contains genomic data in the form of whole genome sequencing (WGS) and genotyping arrays, previously suppressed demographic data fields from EHRs and surveys, and unshifted dates of events.
Register for Data Access
The University of Pittsburgh has signed a Data Use and Registration Agreement with the All of Us Research Program, allowing Pitt researchers to apply for Registered and Controlled Tier access.
US Citizens or US ID/Passport Holders
Researchers who meet the following requirements can use login.gov for identity verification:
- lives in the United States,
- has a social security number (SSN),
- and has a valid U.S. government-issued ID (e.g., U.S. territory- or state-issued ID).
International Researchers without US ID/Passport
If you do not meet requirements for login.gov, please follow the instructions below to use ID.me for identity verification.
Google Cloud Set Up & Costs
Google Cloud Platform (GCP)
Access to the Researcher Workbench and data are free. Computation and storage accrue usage costs through the Google Cloud Platform (GCP). All of Us Research Program provides $300 in free credits for 365 days after the researcher completes the Responsible Conduct of Research Training and signs the Data User Code of Conduct.
Setting up Billing Account for GCP
Once a user’s credits are low, they should receive a message suggesting they setup a long-term billing solution. The Credits and Billing Page will provide additional information regarding initial credits and how to set up a billing account.
Billing is controlled at the workspace level, so users would have to link the workspace to an associated billing account, either with GCP or a Google billing partner. If their research is funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), they are eligible for the STRIDES GCP pricing initiative. Project computation costs can vary, but there are estimations available.
HSLS Workshop
Introduction to AoU Researcher Workbench
Join us for a class on the All of Us Researcher Workbench, a cloud-based platform that provides researchers with access to data generated by the All of Us Research Program (AoURP). Led by the National Institutes of Health, AoURP is a longitudinal cohort study to advance precision medicine and improve human health by partnering with one million or more diverse participants across the United States. Whether you're new to the platform or an experienced user, this class will provide valuable insights into leveraging the All of Us Researcher Workbench for your research needs.
Workshop Materials:
- PowerPoint slides (Oct 15, 2025)
- Workshop Video (from previous session)
- Code Templates: Github and Google Drive
HSLS Self-Paced Module
Applying Probability and Data with R to All of Us Datasets
- This canvas module is designed to complement the 'Introduction to Probability and Data with R' course offered through Coursera and developed by Professor Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel of Duke University. This module is meant to enhance learners' understanding of the All of Us code templates.
Live Support
All of Us
- All of Us offers a Catalog of Events, including Drop-In Office Hours for Q&A.
- To find specific dates and times, please refer to the full calendar.
- Email: support@researchallofus.org
University of Arizona-Banner Health
- With support from All of Us, the University of Arizona–Banner Health has introduced the Biomedical Informatics Core Consulting Services to help researchers working on Researcher Workbench projects. Registered researchers can request up to 15 hours of free consultation, covering everything from feasibility assessments to data analysis and visualization.
- Email: aou-research@email.arizona.edu
Training Links
AoURP offers New User Orientations that might be useful for introductory users.
Unsure where to start after gaining access to the data? Follow this Roadmap for Getting Started with All of Us Data.
- All of Us Glossary
- Athena Search Engine – A searchable database maintained by OHDSI to identify terms and match them to their standard OMOP equivalent.
- Introduction to Athena Tools and Vocabulary
Research Applications
Explore All of Us Research
Learn how researchers used AoURP data via the following searches - start with typing a topic of interest in the search field.
- Research Project Directory
- Preprints (where most of the articles are not published or peer-reviewed yet)
- Publications
- NIH Awarded Grants (NIH Reporter)
Student's Posters:
- Ivy Baker et al., Mental Health Disparities Between Deaf and Hard of Hearing & Hearing Peers
- Valerie DeVos et al., Comparing Healthcare Experiences Between Deaf and Hard of Hearing vs Hearing patients During the COVID-19 Pandemic
Funding Opportunities
Funding opportunities for All of Us research from NIH
Key Publications
-
All of Us Research Program Investigators, The "All of Us" Research Program. N Engl J Med. 2019 Aug 15;381(7):668-676. doi: 10.1056/NEJMsr1809937. PMID: 31412182; PMCID: PMC8291101.
-
Ramirez AH, et al., All of Us Research Program. The All of Us Research Program: Data quality, utility, and diversity. Patterns (N Y). 2022 Aug 12;3(8):100570. doi: 10.1016/j.patter.2022.100570. PMID: 36033590; PMCID: PMC9403360
-
Suzanne Bakken, Elaine Sang, Berry de Brujin, Returning value to communities from the All of Us Research Program through innovative approaches for data use, analysis, dissemination, and research capacity building, Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association, Volume 31, Issue 12, December 2024, Pages 2773–2780, https://doi.org/10.1093/jamia/ocae276