The Air We Breathe

Let's answer the 2nd question first: Greenhouse gases are those gases that act as a greenhouse to the planet. When we have too much of these gases in our atmosphere, the result is an increase in temperature. Many scientific articles now refer to "climate change" rather than "global warming". Yes, the temperatures are rising overall but this affects local weather patterns differently. For example, there may be extreme snowfalls in some parts of the country-- or the highest temperatures on record in other parts.

Greenhouse gases are made up of 6 air pollutants. 

• Carbon Dioxide (CO2)
• Methane (CH4)
• Hydrofluorocarbons
• Nitrous Oxide (N2O)
• Perfluorocarbons (PFCs)
• Sulfur Hexafluoride (SF 6)

Greenhouse Gases Emissions and Climate

Produced by: European Commission EDGAR (Emissions Database for Global Atmospheric Research)
Geographic coverage: Varies by report
Dates of coverage: 1970 to present

EDGAR is a multipurpose, independent, global database of anthropogenic emissions of greenhouse gases and air pollution on Earth. EDGAR provides independent emission estimates compared to what reported by European Member States or by Parties under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), using international statistics and a consistent IPCC methodology. EDGAR provides both emissions as national totals and gridmaps at 0.1 x 0.1 degree resolution at global level, with yearly, monthly and up to hourly data.

The Most Detailed Map of Auto Emissions in America

Produced by: The New York Times (requires subscription to view interactive map)
Read the text of the article: Available through PittCat (requires login; no interactive map)
Geographic coverage: Varies by report
Dates of coverage: 2017

The maps are designed to show a year’s worth of CO2 from passenger and freight traffic on every road in key metropolitan areas.
New York Times analysis of new data released through Boston University’s Database of Road Transportation Emissions. The data is from 2017.

Greenhouse Gas Emissions

Produced by: US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Dates of coverage: varies
Geographic coverage: varies by dataset

Facility Level Emissions: Greenhouse Gas Reporting Program (GHGRP)

• GHG Reporting Data Sets
  • Data Highlights Website
    • Emissions Trends
    • Emissions by GHG
    • Emissions by Location
    • Emissions Ranges
  • State Fact Sheets
  • Facility Level Information on GreenHouse Gases Tool (FLIGHT)
    • An interactive website with mapping features to identify GHGRP facilities by location, name, industry type, and other criteria. FLIGHT can also generate and download customized graphics (pie charts, trend lines, etc.) and facility lists.
  • 2019 Data Summary Spreadsheets(19 MB) 
    • Compressed file contains a multi-year data summary spreadsheet containing the most important, high-level information for facilities, as well as yearly spreadsheets containing slightly more detailed information than the multi-year summary, including reported emissions by greenhouse gas and process.
  • Envirofacts
    • Provides all publicly available data collected by the GHGRP in a searchable, downloadable format for facilities. This includes GHG data and much of the underlying data facilities use to determine GHG values and other reported data elements in 32 industry types.
  • Key Facts and Figures
    • A high-level summary of reported GHGRP data that allows you to view and download key figures.
  • Industrial Profiles
    • Power Plants
    • Petroleum & Natural Gas Systems
    • Refineries
    • Chemicals
    • Waste
    • Metals
    • Minerals
    • Pulp & Paper
    • Miscellaneous Combustion
    • Underground Coal Mines
    • Electronics Manufacturing
    • Electrical Equipment
    • Suppliers Highlights
    • Capture, Supply, and Underground Injection of CO2
    • Fluorinated Greenhouse Gases

National Emissions

• Greenhouse Gas Inventory Data Explorer
  • Index of Charts
• Inventory of US Greenhouse Gas Emissions and Sinks, 1990-2019 (PDF; Annual report)

Global Greenhouse Gas Emissions Data

• Greenhouse Gas Global Emissions by Gas
• Greenhouse Gas Global Emissions by Economic Sector 
• Greenhouse Gas Global Emissions Trends 
• Greenhouse Gas Global Emissions by Country 

Pennsylvania Department of Environmental Protection Climate Change

• Climate Change in Pennsylvania Story Map
  Presents a broad overview of the impact of climate change on Pennsylvania, what has happened in the past and predictions for what to expect in the future.
• 2023 DRAFT: Climate Impacts Assessment and Climate Action Plan Scopes of Work (PDF)
• Pennsylvania Greenhouse Gas Inventory (PDF report)