Skip to Main Content

Environmental Data

Drinking Water

National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network 

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention
Dates of coverage: Varies by topic
Geographic coverage: County, State and National level
About: About the National Environmental Public Health Tracking Network
Includes: Drinking water quality

Consumer Confidence Reports (CCR)

Produced by: US Environmental Protection Agency
Dates of coverage: Varies by topic
Geographic coverage: Local drinking water systems
About: Annual drinking water quality reports submitted to the EPA. Not all local water sources provide the EPA with their quality reports so the EPA has provided links to the water sources when possible.

  • PA Consumer Confidence Reports 
    • View a current list of all submitted water quality reports for the state of Pennsylvania. Do a look-up for your community as not all locales submit reports. Not all local water sources provide the EPA with their quality reports so the EPA has provided links to the water sources when possible.

Drinking Water Quality (EDDIE) 

Produced by: Pennsylvania Department of Health
Dates of coverage: 2001 to most current available
Geographic coverage: County and state level
About: Create tables showing contaminants or water usage by year and location

Water Quality & Pollution Data

Water Quality Data Portal 

Produced by: US Geological Survey, US Environmental Protection Agency, and US Department of Agriculture
Dates of coverage: Varies by topic
Geographic coverage: County, State and National level
About: What is the WQP?

  • National Water Dashboard (New)
    • Real time data for over 13,000 sites
  • Current conditions for the nation
  • This site is for an advanced end user. Select the location you want to map sites, select the site you want to download data. It serves data collected by over 400 state, federal, tribal, and local agencies.
  • This site has US and international water quality data. You need to know something about data collection as you will be asked quite a few questions!

Pennsylvania Water Science Center 

Produced by: US Geological Survey
Dates of coverage: current
Geographic coverage: Local, County, and State level
About: Data collection and interpretive studies are done in cooperation with local, state, and federal agencies.
Note: View data for any state by changing the Geographic Area in the upper right of the screen.

Current Water Data

Produced by: US Geological Survey
Dates of coverage: current
Geographic coverage: County, State and National level

​​​​​​​

National Real-Time Water Quality for the Nation

Produced by: US Geological Survey
Dates of coverage: Current
Geographic coverage: County, State and National level
About: Provides hourly computed concentrations and loads for sediment, nutrients, bacteria, and many additional constituents; uncertainty values and probabilities for exceeding drinking water or recreational criteria; frequency distribution curves; and all historical hourly in-stream sensor measurements

  • Pennsylvania Real-Time Water Quality  

    Real-time computed concentrations of water-quality constituents such as suspended sediment, total nitrogen, and total phosphorus are calculated using ordinary least squares regression models. The results of these models, along with direct water-quality measurements, can be viewed here as time-series graphs, or downloaded as tabular data.

FracFocus: Find a well by state 

Search by state and county to view a list of all fracking sites. A disclosure statement of chemicals used is available for each site.

Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission Data

Produced by: ORSANCO.org
Geographic coverage: Site level
Dates of coverage: 2000 to present
About: The information provided is gathered by monitoring stations along the Ohio River.

MS4 Requirements Mapping Application 

Produced by: PA Department of Environmental Protection
Geographic coverage: Waterways
Dates of coverage: Current
About: Maps discharges of stormwater from entities that have certain standards to obtain an NPDES permit. View by municipality to see the urban area report, as well as the impaired streams."

Beach Safety

Beach Advisory & Closing On-line Notification (BEACON) (US EPA)

Produced by: US Environmental Protection Agency
Dates of coverage: 1995 to current day
Geographic coverage: Local drinking water systems

Use the map to drill down to the specific beach or area you want. Choose a beach to retrieve a report that includes:

  • Advisories and Monitoring Data
  • Beach Advisory and Closing Information
  • Water Quality
  • Beach Profile
  • Contact Information
  • Additional Reports

PennEnvironment Reports

Produced by: PennEnvironment
Geographic coverage: Pennsylvania
Dates of coverage: Varies by report

Mapping Water Condition and Water Quality

National Water Information System Mapper 

Produced by: US Geological Survey
Dates of coverage: Current
Geographic coverage: Local, County, State and National level
About: View sites for groundwater monitoring, surface water monitoring, springs, and more. Click on a site to retrieve a link to go to more data.

 

WaterQualityWatch: Water Quality of Surface Water

Produced by: US Geological Survey
Dates of coverage: 1 year for national; current for state
Geographic coverage: Local, County, State and National level
About: Select the variable of your choice: Water temperature; Specific conductance; ph, field; Dissolved oxygen; Turbidity; Nitrate; Discharges; Chlorophyll; Surrogates

NE Drought Streamflow Probabilities (USGS)

Maximum likelihood logistic regression (MLLR) is used to estimate drought probabilities for selected Northeast region rivers and streams.
Winter streamflows are used to estimate the chance of hydrologic drought during summer months. Hydrologic drought streamflow probabilities for July, August, and September are provided as functions of streamflows during the previous October, November, December, January, and February. Probable streamflows are identified 5 to 11 months ahead of their occurrence.

Pennsylvania Drought Condition Monitoring (USGS)

Flood Inundation Mapper (USGS)

This site is designed as an awareness system for the potential for floods. Choose from the menu options on the left to view flood potential.

​Integrated Water Quality Map Viewer (PA Department of Environmental Protection)

Pennsylvania's integrated water quality monitoring and assessment report satisfies the requirements of sections 305(b) and 303(d) of the Clean Water Act (CWA). Section 303(d) requires states to list all impaired surface waters not supporting uses even after appropriate and required water pollution control strategies have been applied. The 303(d) list includes the reason for impairment, which may be one or more point sources, like industrial or sewage discharges, or non-point sources, like abandoned mine lands or agricultural runoff and the pollutant causing the impairment such as metals, pH, mercury or siltation. 305(b) is the narrative report.

WaterWatch Streamflow Map Animation (USGS)

Create animated maps that show the change of times of the flow of streams.

​Macroinvertebrate Taxa Viewer

"Macroinvertebrates are used throughout the world as indicators of water quality. Macroinvertebrate community assessments are efficient and powerful because they offer the ability to assess short-term and long-term, cumulative effects of many ecosystem stressors, including both chemical and physical factors. To address the complexities of different types of streams and the macroinvertebrate communities that may prefer certain physical or chemical features, DEP has created three unique macroinvertebrate collection methods."

General Water Conditions/About Water Sources

Site Inventory System: PA (USGS) 

  • The Site Inventory System contains and provides access to inventory information about sites at stream reaches, wells, test holes, springs, tunnels, drains, lakes, reservoirs, ponds, excavations, and water-use facilities. Site-level and time-series level revisions are also now available.

Pennsylvania Water Science Center (USGS) 

  • The USGS Pennsylvania Water Science Center is your direct link to all kinds of water-resource information. Data collection and interpretive studies are done in cooperation with local, state, and federal agencies.

Water Data for Pennsylvania (USGS)

  • This is the home page to a variety of links providing water information for the state.

Data & Tools: PA Water Science Center (USGS) 

  • View real time data for Streamflow, Groundwater, and Water Quality (free-flowing water).

Water Data for Pennsylvania (USGS) 

  • This is the home page to a variety of links providing water information for the state.

Streamflow: National Water Information System (USGS) 

PA Groundwater (Wells): National Water Information System (USGS) 

PA Water Quality Data: National Water Information System (USGS) 

PA Groundwater (Wells): National Water Information System (USGS) 

Water Quality (Rivers, etc.): National Water Information System (USGS)

PA Surface Water: National Water Information System (USGS)

The data describes stream levels, streamflow (discharge), reservoir and lake levels, surface-water quality, and rainfall.

Science Explorer: Water

Pennsylvania Water Science Center (USGS) 

  • The USGS Pennsylvania Water Science Center is your direct link to all kinds of water-resource information. Data collection and interpretive studies are done in cooperation with local, state, and federal agencies.

Water Data for Pennsylvania (USGS)

  • This is the home page to a variety of links providing water information for the state.

Data & Tools: PA Water Science Center (USGS) 

  • View real time data for Streamflow, Groundwater, and Water Quality (free-flowing water).

Water Data for Pennsylvania (USGS) 

  • This is the home page to a variety of links providing water information for the state.

Streamflow: National Water Information System (USGS) PA Groundwater (Wells): National Water Information System (USGS) 

PA Water Quality Data: National Water Information System (USGS) 

Science Explorer: Water

Produced by: US Geological Survey
Dates of coverage: Current
Geographic coverage: Local, County, State and National level
About: View sites for groundwater monitoring, surface water monitoring, springs, and more. Click on a site to retrieve a link to go to more data.

Each link in the table below goes to Data & Tools for the topic listed.