Cause of Illness Data

This page links to reports and data on the incidence/prevalence & mortality for several chronic disease topics.

See also:

• Cardiovascular Disease & Stroke
• Cancer
• Diabetes & Obesity
• Mortality Data for sites to create tables by cause of illness, sex, race/ethnicity, age, and geography.

Chronic Disease Data

Produced by: US National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (CDC)
Dates of coverage: varies by data set
Geographic coverage: County, State and National level

• Chronic Disease Surveillance Systems with descriptions
• Chronic Disease Interactive Apps
  • Alcohol and Public Health: Alcohol-Related Disease Impact (ARDI)
  • Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) Prevalence & Trends Data
  • Chronic Disease Indicators
  • Chronic Kidney Disease Surveillance System
  • Diabetes Atlas
  • Global Tobacco Surveillance System Data (GTSSData)
  • Healthy Aging Data Portal
  • Heart Disease and Stroke Prevention Data Trends & Maps
  • Interactive Atlas of Heart Disease and Stroke
  • PLACES: Local Data for Better Health
  • Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System Portal
  • Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity: Data, Trends and Maps
  • Office on Smoking and Health’s Interactive Data Dissemination Tool: OSHData
  • Oral Health Data
  • State Tobacco Activities Tracking and Evaluation (STATE) System
  • U.S. Cancer Statistics Data Visualizations Tool
  • Vision & Eye Health Data & Maps
  • Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS) Data Portal
• Data and Statistics by Topic
  • Alcohol
  • Arthritis
  • Cancer
  • Chronic Kidney Disease
  • Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease
  • Diabetes
  • Epilepsy
  • Healthy Aging
  • Healthy Schools
  • Inflammatory Bowel Disease
  • Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity
  • Reproductive Health
  • Sleep and Sleep Disorders
  • Smoking and Tobacco Use
  • Water Fluoridation
  • Workplace Health
• Open Data Portal
  • All Chronic Disease and Health Promotion Data & Indicators
  • 500 Cities
  • Alcohol-Related Disease Impact
  • Behavioral Risk Factors
  • Chronic Disease Indicators
  • Health-Related Quality of Life
  • Healthy Aging Data
  • Heart Disease & Stroke Prevention
  • Maternal & Child Health
  • Nutrition, Physical Activity, and Obesity
  • Oral Health
  • Tobacco Use
  • Vision & Eye Health
  • Youth Risk Behaviors

SMART: BRFSS City and County Data and Documentation

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: City & County level

• Select: Chronic Disease Indicators
  • These are data sets only; interactive maps are at the state level.

Community Counts Data Reports (US CDC) and Bleeding Disorders Data Visualization (US CDC Community Counts)

Community Counts is a CDC project that tracks hemophilia data in the US.

Sickle Cell

The CDC has a Sickle Cell Disease page that provides minimal data at this time.

United States Renal Data System (USRDS)

Data produced by: National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases (NIDDK);  Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), the United Network for Organ Sharing (UNOS), and the ESRD networks
Dates of coverage: 2010 to most current available
Geographic coverage: State and National level

• USRDS (Renal Disease) 2020 Annual Report
• USRDS (Renal Disease) Annual Reports (prior to 2020)
• End Stage Renal Disease Data Query
  • Extract data for the US on end stage renal disease (ESRD). Some state data is available.
  • ESRD Incident Coun
  • ESRD Prevalent Count
  • ESRD Mortality Rate
  • ESRD Hospitalization Rate

Organ Transplants List (United Network for Organ Sharing)

Produced by: United Network for Organ Sharting
Geographic coverage: Transplant facility level
Dates of coverage: 1995 to current

Select:

Includes: race/ethnicity, blood type, age, and diagnosis of those on waiting lists or who have registered for organ transplants.

Other Information: Information is specific to the facilities that perform organ transplants.

Chronic Disease Data Surveillance Systems

Produced by: US National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion (CDC)
Dates of coverage: varies by data set
Geographic coverage: County, State and National level

• Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
  • The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the world’s largest, premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors such as smoking, physical activity,and fruit and vegetable consumption; chronic health conditions; and use of preventive services.
• Chronic Kidney Disease (CKD) Surveillance System
  • The CKD Surveillance System documents the burden of CKD and its risk factors in the US population over time and monitors the progress of efforts to prevent, detect, and manage CKD.
• Health-Related Quality of Life (HRQOL)
  • HRQOL surveillance is used to identify unmet population health needs; recognize trends, disparities, and determinants of health in the population; and guide decision making and program evaluation.
• National Assisted Reproductive Technology Surveillance System (NASS)
  • NASS collects information on Assistive Reproductive Technology (ART) treatment outcomes from all infertility clinics in the United States, and publishes an annual report.
• National Adult Tobacco Survey (NATS)
  • NATS was created to assess the prevalence of tobacco use, as well as the factors promoting and impeding tobacco use among adults. NATS also establishes a comprehensive framework for evaluating both the national and state-specific tobacco control programs.
• National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)
  • NHIS is a large-scale household interview survey that collects data on health status health care access, and progress toward achieving national health objectives.
• National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES)
  • NHANES is designed to assess the health and nutritional status of adults and children in the United States. The survey is unique in that it combines interviews and physical exams.
• United States Cancer Statistics
  • The United States Cancer Statistics are the official government statistics on cancer. These statistics include cancer registry data from CDC’s National Program of Cancer Registries and the National Cancer Institute’s Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results (SEER) Program, as well as mortality data from CDC’s National Center for Health Statistics. The statistics provide information on newly diagnosed cancer cases and cancer deaths for the whole U.S. population.
• National Youth Tobacco Survey (NYTS)
  • NYTS is a nationally representative cross-sectional school-based survey of public school students enrolled in grades 6-12.
• Pregnancy Mortality Surveillance System (PMSS)
  • CDC uses PMSS to better understand the circumstances of pregnancy-related death so appropriate action can be taken to prevent them. Each year, CDC asks 52 reporting areas to send copies of death certificates for all women who died during pregnancy or within 1 year of pregnancy, and copies of the matching birth or fetal death certificates, if they have the ability to perform such record links. This information is summarized, and medically trained epidemiologists determine the cause and time of death related to the pregnancy.
• Pregnancy Risk Assessment Monitoring System (PRAMS)
  • PRAMS collects state-specific, population-based data on maternal attitudes and experiences before, during, and shortly after pregnancy.
• US Diabetes Surveillance System
  • The US Diabetes Surveillance System documents the public health burden of diabetes and its complications at the national, state, and county levels. Users can instantly visualize diabetes data, identify high-risk groups, and track progress by customizing maps, charts, and tables to display trends by age, sex, and education.
• Water Fluoridation Reporting System (WFRS)
  • Water systems that adjust the fluoride of their water to the optimal level for decay prevention also collect data to monitor fluoridation quality. WFRS is an online tool that helps states manage the quality of their water fluoridation programs. WFRS information is also the basis for national surveillance reports that describe the percentage of the US population on community water systems who receive optimally fluoridated drinking water.
• Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
  • YRBSS was developed to monitor priority health risk behaviors that contribute markedly to the leading causes of death, disability, and social problems among youth and adults in the United States.