Cause of Illness Data

See also Social & Behavioral Determinants of Health Risk Behaviors for links to cancer screening data from BRFSS.

State Cancer Profiles

Produced by: US National Cancer Institute
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 1975 to most current available
About: State Cancer Profiles Site History & Release Schedule

• Incidence
  • Interactive Maps
    • State/county level
  • Incidence Rates Tables
    • State/county level
  • Historical Trends
  • 5-year Rate Changes
• Demographics
  • Interactive maps
  • Demographics Table
• Screening & Risk Factors

Cancer Incidence Statistics (CDC WONDER)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSA), State, Division, and Region level
Dates of coverage:  1999 through most current available
About: US Cancer Statistics Public Information Data

• Cancer Statistics
  • Cancer Incidence Data Request 1999 - 2018 
    • By year, state, metropolitan area, age group, race, ethnicity, sex, childhood cancers and cancer site classifications.
       More information
  • Cancer Mortality Incidence Rate Ratios 1999 - 2018:  By year, state, metropolitan area, race, ethnicity, sex, and cancer site classifications. See below for more information on mortality rate comparisons.
    • More information
  • Data Visualizations for 5 year Relative Survival (CDC, not WONDER)
    • Data from the National Program of Cancer Registries
    • By race, sex, age group and cancer site classifications

NCI Cancer Atlas

Produced by: US National Cancer Institute
Geographic coverage: County, state, and US 
About: NCI Cancer Atlas
Includes: More for 35 cancers, including brain and ONS, esophagus, breast, lung and bronchus cervical, leukemia, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, ovarian, thyroid, and stomach.

Cancer-rates.info

Produced by: University of Kentucky
Geographic coverage: County, micro statistical area, metro statistical area, health service region, and state level; not all states participate
Dates of coverage: 1995 to 2018; does not cover all states
About: About Cancer-rates.info

This page links to reports and data on the mortality for this specific topic.

See also: Mortality Data for data sites that cover all cause mortality.

State Cancer Profiles

Produced by: US National Cancer Institute
Geographic coverage: County level
Dates of coverage: 1975 to most current available
About: State Cancer Site History & Release Schedule
 

• Mortality​
  • Interactive Maps
  • Tables
  • Historical Trends
  • 5-year Rate Changes
  • Death Rates Graph: CI*Rank Graphs
  • Death Rates Graph: Rates Graph
  • Rate/Trend Comparison by Cancer
  • Rate/Trend Comparison by State/County

Cancer Mortality Statistics (CDC WONDER)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan Statistical Areas (MSA), State, Division, and Region level
Dates of coverage:  1999 through most current available
About: US Cancer Statistics Public Information Data

• Cancer Statistics
  • Cancer Mortality 1999 - 2018
    • By year, state, metropolitan area, age group, race, ethnicity, sex, and cancer site classifications. 
    • More information
  • Cancer Mortality Incidence Rate Ratios 1999 - 2018
    • By year, state, metropolitan area, race, ethnicity, sex, and cancer site classifications.
    • More information on mortality rate comparisons
  • Data Visualizations for 5 year Relative Survival (CDC, not WONDER)
    • Data from the National Program of Cancer Registries
    • By race, sex, age group and cancer site classifications

NCI Cancer Atlas

Produced by: National Cancer Institute
Geographic coverage: County, state, and US 
About: NCI Cancer Atlas
Includes: More for 35 cancers, including brain and ONS, esophagus, breast, lung and bronchus cervical, leukemia, non-Hodgkin's lymphoma, ovarian, thyroid, and stomach.

• Demographics from the American Community Survey from 2014 to 1-3years ago;
• SEER Incidence from 2013 to 1-3 years ago;
• US Mortality from 2014 to 1-3 years ago;
• US Historical Mortality from 1970 to 2009 for the entire United States
• Prevalence Statistics for Screening and Risk Factors from the BRFSS

Animated Historical Cancer Data (US NCI)

Produced by: National Cancer Institute
Geographic coverage: County and state level
Dates of coverage: 1971-2015
About: Animated maps show changes in mortality in 5-year increments by cancer type/site and gender.

Cancer Statistics Dashboard

Produced by: Pennsylvania Department of Health
Geographic coverage: County, state, and health service regions level
Dates of coverage: 2000 to app 3 years ago

• 1: Overview
  • Click on the type of cancer to see an overview of: Incidence; Mortality; Trends; Projections; Limited-duration prevalence; Stage at diagnosis; Age at diagnosis or death; Net survival; Lifetime risks; County rankings
• 2. Table of contents
• 3. Number of new cases
  • Incidence by cancer type, year, county/state, race/ethnicity, age, stage
• Unless otherwise note, all of the following reports have data by cancer type, year, gender, race/ethnicity, and age; data is not available by county
• 4. Cancer trends (summary data)
• 5. Modeled trends (summary data)
• 6. Prevalence (# of people living with cancer) estimates
• 7. Percent state distribution by cancer
• 8. Percent of new cases that are invasive
• 9. Age-adjusted 5-year net survival
• 10. Net survival by numbers of years since diagnosis
• 11. Lifetime risk of developing and dying from cancer
• 12. Age-adjusted incidence of cancer by county
• 13. How many cancer cases/deaths will there be this year?
• Download data from an interactive page