Cause of Illness Data

This page links to reports and data on the incidence/prevalence & mortality for several chronic disease topics.

See also:

• Cardiovascular Disease & Stroke
• Cancer
• Diabetes & Obesity
• Mortality Data for sites to create tables by cause of illness, sex, race/ethnicity, age, and geography.

Diabetes Data and Surveillance

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: County, State, and National level data
Dates of coverage:  2000 through most current available

• Interactive Diabetes Atlas 
  • View data by age, gender, race-ethnicity, education at the national, state, and county level
• Data Systems and Resources
  • A Snapshot: Diabetes in the United States
  • Chronic Kidney Disease Surveillance System
  • Vision Data and Statistics (VEHSS)
  • Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report
• National Diabetes Statistics Report (Most current)
  • National Diabetes Statistics Report, 2020
  • Prevalence of Both Diagnosed and Undiagnosed Diabetes
  • Prevalence of Diagnosed Diabetes
  • Incidence of Newly Diagnosed Diabetes
  • Prevalence of Prediabetes Among Adults
  • Risk Factors for Diabetes-Related Complications
  • Preventing Diabetes-Related Complications
  • Coexisting Conditions and Complications
  • Appendix
• Diabetes & Obesity Maps
  • County level
  • Download maps from 2004, 2010, and 2016
• Diabetes State Burden Toolkit
  • Choose a state, then choose a module: Health Burden, Economic Burden, Mortality

State of Childhood Obesity Rates and Trends 

Produced by: Robert Woods Johnson Foundation
Geographic coverage: County, State, and National level data
Dates of coverage:  1971 through most current available

• National Obesity Monitor: Explore the Data
• Childhood Obesity by Age Group: Interactive Data Tool
  • Obesity Rates for Youth Ages 10 to 17
  • Obesity Rates Among WIC Participants Ages 2-4

  • Obesity Rates among High School Students

• State of Childhood Obesity: Pennsylvania

Overweight & Obesity

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: County, State, and National level data
Dates of coverage:  varies, but generally up to most current available

• Adult Obesity Facts
• Childhood Obesity Facts
• Data, Trends & Maps
  • Nutrition, Physical Activity, & Obesity: Trends, & Maps Database
  • Chronic Disease State Tracking System
• Statistics & Tracking
  • Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)
  • Chronic Disease Indicators
  • Health Related Quality of Life (HRQOL)
  • Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)
• The Surgeon General’s Call To Action To Prevent and Decrease Overweight and Obesity
• Finkelstein E, Fiebelkorn I, Wang G, National Medical Expenditures Attributable To Overweight and Obesity: How Much, and Who’s Paying. Health Affairs Web Exclusive, July/August 2003.

Youth Risk Behavioral Surveillance Survey

Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: Local school district, State, and National level data
Dates of coverage: 1991 to most current available
About: The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)  is a system of surveys, including: a national school-based survey conducted by CDC and state, territorial, tribal; and local surveys conducted by state, territorial, and local education and health agencies and tribal governments monitors. It tracks six categories of health-related behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including diet and nutrition, and overweight and obesity.

• YRBSS Results
  • High school students
  • Middle school students
• Youth Online
  • Customize tables based on geography, behavior, race/ethnicity, and grade level.
• YRBSS Explorer: Explore Youth Risk Behavior Survey Questions
  • Data visualization tool for the most current data.
• YRBSS Results
  • View the most current national, state, and local school district results.
• YRBS Data Summary & Trends (2009 to most current)
  •  PDF reports that track trends at the national level.
• YRBS Questionnaires