Cause of Illness Data

This page links to reports and data on the mortality for this specific topic.

See also: Mortality Data for data sites that cover all cause mortality.

Notifiable Infectious Diseases and Conditions Data Tables

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: National, state, and regional
Dates of coverage: 1951 to most current available
About: About Notifiable Infectious Diseases and Conditions Data
Notifiable disease definitions and lists by year: Surveillance Case Definitions for Current and Historical Conditions
Note about COVID: COVID data is not found on these tables. An explanation can be found on the site.

• Nationally Notifiable Infectious Disease Data Tables
  • Weekly Tables
    • From About Weekly Tables (Provisional): Weekly data are considered provisional data. Provisional data are initially collected locally as a result of state, territorial, and local legislation and regulations that require healthcare providers, medical laboratories, and other entities to submit data on reportable conditions to state and local public health departments. The reportable conditions vary depending upon each jurisdiction’s health priorities. The reporting jurisdictions voluntarily submit case notifications for the national notifiable conditions to CDC....
    • WONDER Weekly Tables of Infectious Diseases (1996 to present)
    • DATA.CDC.gov Provisional Weekly Infectious Disease Data (2014 to present)
    • MMWR Weekly Tables of Infectious Diseases (1993 to 2017)
    • CDC Stacks Collections of Weekly Infectious Disease Tables (1951 to present)
  • Annual Tables
    • WONDER Annual Tables of Infectious Diseases and Conditions (2016 to present)
    • MMWR Summary of Notifiable Infectious Diseases and Conditions (1993-2015) NOTE: Beginning in 2016, NNDSS finalized data were published on CDC WONDER.
    • CDC Stacks Collections of Annual Tables of Infectious Diseases and Conditions (1952 to present) Hint: once in CDC Stacks, go to left side of screen and select “Annual Reports” from “Narrow Results”, “Genre”.

COVID Data Tracker

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: County, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2020 to present

Note: Due to reorganization changes to this site, links have changed. There will be overlap between the bullet points.

• Summaries and Reports

  • Weekly Review
  • COVID-19 Data Review
  • CDC COVID-19 Data

• Data and Surveillance

  • Hospitalization Surveillance Network COVID-NET
  • Hospitalization Forecasts
  • Estimated COVID-19 Burden
  • COVID Data Tracker

• Variant Surveillance

  • Genomic Surveillance for SARS-CoV-2
  • Tracking Variants
  • SARS-CoV-2 Variant Classifications and Definitions

• Additional COVID Data Topics

• Health Equity Data
  • See also: Health Equity Tracker
  • Vaccination Equity (by county & Social Vulnerability Index)
  • COVID-19 Weekly Cases and Deaths per 100,000 Population by Age, Race/Ethnicity, and Sex
  • Trends in COVID-19 Cases and Deaths in the United States, by County-level Population Factors
  • COVID-19 Pandemic Vulnerability Index (PVI) by County
    • Note: This will take you out of the COVID-19 Data Tracker to the home site of the PVI by County
    • PVI user guide
• Pediatric Data
  • Multisystem Inflammatory Syndrome in Children (MIS-C)
  • Lab-confirmed hospitalizations by age
  • Vaccinations by age and sex
  • Cases and deaths by age, race/ethnicity, and sex
  • New hospital admissions by age
  • Trends in emergency department visits by age
• Pregnancy data
• Hospitalizations
  • Trends in United States COVID-19 Hospitalizations, Deaths, Emergency Department (ED) Visits, and Test Positivity by Geographic Area
  • United States COVID-19 Hospitalizations, Deaths, Emergency Department (ED) Visits, and Test Positivity by Geographic Area
  • New Hospital Admissions confirmed with COVID
  • Hospitalization utilization and capacity
  • Prevalent hospitalizations of patients with COVID
  • COVID-NET Laboratory-confirmed COVID-19 hospitalizations
  • Respiratory Virus Surveillance Network
• COVID Data Tracker Weekly Review
  • Reviews weekly trends, covering cases, deaths, variants, testing, and vaccinations
  • Note: This report had its last issue on May 12, 2023 following the declaration of the end of the public health emergency on May 11, 2023.
• COVID-NET Interactive Dashboard
• COVID-19 Death Data & Resources
• Vaccination distribution and coverage
  • COVID Vaccinations by County
    • Level of community transmission, hospital utilization, cases, deaths, vaccinations, CDC Social Vulnerability Index
    • Community Profile Report
      • PDF report showing data trends
      • Excel attachments with extensive data by core-based statistical areas (CBSAs), counties, and much more
      • View time-lapse for level of community transmission for US by county
    • •  
    • Cases, Deaths, and Testing (State; Click on a state for more data from state health department)
      • Cases, Deaths, and Testing
      • Daily and Total Trends
      • Compare Trends Across States and Regions
    • Demographic trends (State, Region, US)
      • Trends in Cases and Deaths by Race/Ethnicity, Age, and Sex
      • Total Cases and Deaths by Race/Ethnicity, Age, and Sex
      • Cases and Deaths by Urban/Rural Status and Social Factors
    • Health Care Setting (State, US)
      • New Hospital Admissions
      • Hospitalized Patients
      • COVID-NET Hospitalization Surveillance Network (Cumulative, Weekly; Age, Sex, Race/Ethnicity
      • Nursing Home Residents
      • Nursing Home Staff
      • Healthcare Personnel
      • Trends in ED Visits
      • COVID-19 Hospitalizations and Disease Severity
    • Genomic Surveillance
      • Variant Proportions (HHS Region, US)
      • Published SARS-CoV-2 Sequences
    • Seroprevalence
      • Nationwide Commercial Lab Seroprevalence
      • 10-Site Seroprevalence
      • Nationwide Blood Donor Seroprevalence
    • People at Increased Risk
      • Underlying Medical Conditions
        • Zoom in on map to retrieve list of counties for area displayed
      • Pregnant People: COVID-19 Illness and Outcomes
      • Correctional Facilities (Facility level)
    • United States COVID-19 Cases and Deaths by State
    • Cases & Deaths among Healthcare Personnel
    • Trends in cases, deaths, hospitalizations
      • Trends in Number of COVID-19 Cases in the US Reported to CDC 
      • Compare Trends in COVID-19 Cases and Deaths in States in the US Reported to CDC 
      • Demographic Trends of COVID-19 cases and deaths in the US reported to CDC 
      • Trends in COVID-19 Cases and Deaths in the United States, by County-level Population Factors
      • Trends in Emergency Department Visits
    • United States (COVID) Forecasting 
    • National Wastewater Surveillance System (NWSS) 
      • Wastewater can be tested for RNA from SARS-CoV-2

Coronavirus (COVID-19) Tracking Center

Produced by: John Hopkins University Coronavirus Resource Center
Geographic coverage: County, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2020 to March 2023

• US Map Cases & Deaths by county
• Number of days per week data is reported by states
• Weekly hospitalization trends (by state)
• Weekly case trends (by state)

Coronavirus in the U.S.: Latest Map and Case Count

Produced by: New York Times
Geographic coverage: County, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2020 to March 2023

According to the NY Times, since late January 2020, they have "tracked coronavirus cases and deaths as they are announced using data released by countries, states and local health officials." Additionally, "The Times uses testing and hospitalization data published by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, and has used data collected by The COVID Tracking Project. The Times uses case and death data for most countries from Johns Hopkins University."

Health Equity Tracker: Explore the Data

Produced by: Satcher Health Leadership Institute, Morehouse School of Medicine
Geographic coverage: County, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2020 to present
About the data: Read more about missing and misidentified people

• Cases of COVID
• COVID Vaccinations

The COVID Racial Data Tracker

NOTE: This project has closed. Refer to CDC COVID health equity data
Produced by: COVID Tracking Project and the Center for Antiracist Research
Geographic coverage: State level data
Dates of coverage: 2020 to March 27, 2021

Mpox

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)

• Mpox Science Agenda, Reports, and Additional Materials
• U.S. Case Trends
• Vaccine Administration Data (archived)

NREVSS (National Respiratory and Enteric Virus Surveillance System

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: State, Regional, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2018 to most current available
Includes:

• Surveillance for Common Human Coronaviruses
• Human Metapneumovirus Surveillance
• Human Parainfluenza Virus Surveillance
• Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) Surveillance
• Respiratory Adenovirus Surveillance
• Rotavirus Surveillance
• Norovirus Surveillance

RESP-NET (Respiratory Virus Hospitalization Network)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: State, Regional, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2018 to most current available
About: Covers COVID, Flu, and RSV

FluView: Flu Activity & Surveillance

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: State, Regional, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2008 to most current available

• FluView Weekly Surveillance Reports 
• FluView Interactive
  • Age Group Distribution of Influenza Positive Tests Reported by Public Health Laboratories Data‎
  • FluSurv-NET Hospitalization Rates Data‎
  • FluSurv-NET Hospitalizations with Characteristics Data‎
  • National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) Hospitalizations Surveillance Data‎
  • Outpatient Respiratory Illness Activity Map
  • Influenza Mortality Surveillance from the National Center for Health Statistics Mortality Surveillance System Data‎

Active Bacterial Core surveillance (ABCs)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
About:  This is an "active laboratory- and population-based surveillance system for invasive bacterial pathogens of public health importance. ABCs provides an infrastructure for further public health research, which may include special studies to identify disease risk factors, evaluate vaccine efficacy, and monitor the effectiveness of prevention policies"

• List of pathogens
  • group A Streptococcus Website
  • group B Streptococcus Website
  • Haemophilus influenzae Website
  • Legionellosis Website
  • Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus Website
  • Neisseria meningitidis Website
  • Streptococcus pneumoniae Website
• Data includes
  • Enhanced Pertussis surveillance
  • Bac Facts Interactive Dashboard
    • Scroll down to select a bacterium
  • ABCs Isolates & Data
  • Surveillance Reports

National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention

Produced by: US National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: State level, some county level
Dates of coverage: 2008 to most current available

• Sexually Transmitted Diseases: Data & Statistics
  • Links to most current reports
• NCHHSTP AtlasPlus
  • Create charts, tables, and maps down to the county level (if data is available)
• County level syphilis data
• Sexually Transmitted Diseases: Archived reports (1997 to last year's report)
• Sexually Transmitted Diseases: Archived reports (Links to a reports site on CDC WONDER; 1993-1996)
  • 1996 Sexually Transmitted Disease Surveillance Report
  • 1995 Sexually Transmitted Disease Surveillance Report
  • 1994 Sexually Transmitted Disease Surveillance Report
  • 1993 Sexually Transmitted Disease Surveillance Report

HIV/AIDS

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention
Geographic coverage: State level, some county level
Dates of coverage: 1982 to most current available

• HIV Surveillance Reports
  • Diagnoses of HIV Infection in the United States and Dependent Areas 2020
  • Diagnoses of HIV Infection in the United States and Dependent Areas, 2019
• HIV Surveillance Tables: Core Indicators for Monitoring the Ending the HIV Epidemic Initiative (Preliminary Data)
• Reports Archive
  • 2010 – 2018 Surveillance Reports
  • 2000 – 2009 Surveillance Reports
  • 1990 – 1999 Surveillance Reports
  • 1982 – 1989 Surveillance Reports
  • Supplemental & Special Reports
    • Volumes 22-20 Supplemental Reports
    • Volumes 19-15 Supplemental Reports
    • Volumes 14-10 Supplemental Reports
    • Volumes 9-5 Supplemental Reports
    • Numbers 15-18 Special Reports
    • Numbers 7-1 Special Reports

AIDS Public Data (CDC WONDER)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan Statistical Areas, Regions of the country
Dates of coverage: 1981 to 2002
Includes: Age, race/ethnicity, dead/not dead, sexual orientation, HIV exposure category, and case definition.

Sexually Transmitted Disease Morbidity (CDC WONDER)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage: 1984 to 2014

Online Tuberculosis Information System (OTIS) (CDC WONDER)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA) and State level 
Dates of coverage:  1993 to most current available

COVID Data Tracker

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: County, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2020 to present

• COVID-19 Integrated County View
  • Level of community transmission, hospital utilization, cases, deaths, vaccinations, CDC Social Vulnerability Index
• COVID Vaccination Trends (State)
• Vaccination among pregnant women
• Demographic Characteristics of People Receiving COVID-19 Vaccinations
• Trends in Vaccinations by Age, Race/Ethnicity, and Sex

Vaccine Adverse Event Reporting System (VAERS) (CDC WONDER)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: State and Territory level
Dates of coverage: 1900 to present

• How to Access Data from CDC's VAERS WONDER System
  • Written steps: How to access VAERS data
  • Video: How to access VAERS data

Influenza Vaccination Reports (MMWR & other articles) 

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: National level 
Dates of coverage:  2009 to most current available

ChildVaxView

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: National level 
Dates of coverage:  1995 to most current available

• ChildVaxView Interactive Reports
• Publications and Resources

TeenVaxView

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: National level 
Dates of coverage:  2009 to most current available

• TeenVaxView Interactive
• Publications and Reports

SchoolVaxView

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: National level 
Dates of coverage:  2009 to most current available

• SchoolVaxView Interactive
• Publications & Resources
  • Pennsylvania Data (PA Department of Health)

AdultVaxView

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: State and National level 
Dates of coverage:  2010 to most current available

• General Population
• Nursing Home Residents
• Pregnant Women
• Publications & Resources

Pneumonia, influenza, & COVID mortality surveillance system

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: Region, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: Week 40 2016 to most current available

122 Cities Mortality Reporting System Archive (CMRS)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: State level
Dates of coverage: 19996 to Week 39 2016 (System retired)

• Pennsylvania data available for Allentown, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Reading, and Scranton.

COVID-19 Data

Produced by: Pennsylvania Department of Health
Geographic coverage: County and State level
Dates of coverage: 2020 to most current available

• Scroll down the page to view the different data sections
• COVID-19 Dashboard shows cases and deaths by day
• COVID-19 Vaccine Dashboard shows vaccinations by day and cumulative
• Daily case counts by county
• Multisystem inflammatory syndrome in children (MIS-C)
• Epicurve by Region and Date of First Report
• OpenData
  • Vaccinations
  • Cases
  • Deaths
  • Hospitalizations
• COVID-19 Trajectory Animations

Communicable Disease Statistics

Produced by: Pennsylvania Department of Health
Geographic coverage: County and State level
Dates of coverage: varies by disease; 2000-2003 to most current available

• HIV/AIDS Annual Summary and Other Reports
• EDDIE (Enterprise Data Dissemination Informatics Exchange)
  • 1. Select Group: Diseases
  • 2. Select Category: Choose either Communicable Diseases (Other than STD) or Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STDs)

Project Tycho: Search data sets

Produced by: University of Pittsburgh
Dates of coverage: 1800's to early-mid 2000's

This searchable collection of infectious diseases covers the US as well as countries around the world.