Cause of Illness Data

See also:

• Diabetes & Obesity
• Risk Factors for data from BRFSS
• Healthcare Quality for sites with data on survival for CVD-related events
• Mortality Data for sites to create tables by cause of illness, sex, race/ethnicity, age, and geography.

Quick Maps of Heart Disease, Stroke, and Socio-economic Conditions

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Division for Heart Disease and Prevention
Geographic Coverage: County and State level date
Dates of Coverage: 2005 to most current
Includes: View and download maps on heart disease and stroke showing national data, health care costs, and social determinants of health data.

Create your own maps using:

• Interactive Atlas of Heart Disease & Stroke
  • Interactive Atlas of Heart Disease & Stroke: Pennsylvania

SMART: Selected Metropolitan/Micropolitan Area Risk Trends

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Area (MMSA)
Dates of coverage: 2002 to current

CARES: Cardiac Registry to Enhance Survival Data & Reports

Produced by: Emory University & US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: State level data
Dates of coverage: 2017 to most current available

Unlike most of the resources in this LibGuide, this is not a searchable database. CARES produces annual reports and other materials. It extends information that may be captured by HCUPnet which focuses on hospital-based care. 

Hospital Compare

Produced by: US Medicare
Geographic coverage: Hospital level data
Dates of coverage: most current data available

Includes data on Surgical Infection Prevention, Heart Attack, Heart Failure, and Pneumonia, including Rate of readmission & death rate.