Cause of Illness Data

See also: Risk Behaviors for additional resources on drug use.

See also: Mortality Data for sites to create tables by cause of illness, sex, race/ethnicity, age, and geography.

Drug Abuse Trends and Statistics 

Produced by: US Department of Health & Human Services National Institute of Drug Abuse
Geographic coverage: State level, National level
Dates of coverage: 1975 to most current available
Resources include:

• Overdose Deaths (National)
• Opioid Summaries by State
• Monitoring the Future Trends and Statistics is a longitudinal survey, administered since 1975, that measures drug and alcohol use and related attitudes among adolescent students nationwide.

Opioid Overdose Data

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: State level, National level
Dates of coverage: 2013 to most current available

This site from the CDC tracks usage trends, overdoses, and deaths from opioid use. Data goes from 2014 to most current available.

• Data Analysis and Resources
• Drug Overdose Deaths
• Nonfatal Drug Overdoses
• Prescription Opioids
• U.S. Opioid Dispensing Rate Maps
• Heroin Overdose
• Synthetic Opioid Overdose
• Fentanyl Encounters Data
• Other Drugs

SAMHSA Data Resources

Produced by: US Department of Health & Human Services Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Geographic coverage: State level, National level
Dates of coverage: 1993 to 1-2 years ago

• SAMHDA Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
• NSDUH National Survey on Drug Use and Health (1998 to most current available)
  • Formerly called the National Household Survey on Drug Abuse (NHSDA)
• N-SSATS National Survey of Substance Abuse Treatment Services
• DAWN Drug Abuse Warning Network (most current starting in 2021)
  • Legacy DAWN (1992 - 2011)
• TEDS Treatment Episode Data Set
• N-MHSS National Mental Health Services Survey
• MH-CLD Mental Health Client-Level Data
• URS Uniform Reporting System
• All reports

National Drug Early Warning System

Produced by: University of Florida with funding from NIDA
Geographic coverage: State level, National level
Dates of coverage: unknown at this time

• State and National Overdose Web (SNOW)
• Florida Drug-Related Outcomes Surveillance and Tracking System (FROST)
• Novel Surveillance
  • NDEWS Hotspot Alerts
  • Rapid Street Reporting
  • Web Surveillance
  • Real-Time 911 Dispatch Data

National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI)

Produced by: National Alliance on Mental Illness
Geographic coverage: National level
Dates of coverage: 
About: This grassroots mental health organization provides data at the national level by identity and cultural dimensions.