Social & Behavioral Determinants of Health Data

Census Data: Housing Topics

Produced by: US Census Bureau 
Geographic coverage: Local, County, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2000 to current
Instructions: Each topic below accesses all available tables for that specific topic. IF the table you select uses ACS 1-Year Estimates AND you want to view neighborhood-level data (by Census tract, ZIP Code approximations, etc.), change the product used (to the left of CUSTOMIZE TABLE, upper right) to ACS 5-Year Estimates. Click on CUSTOMIZE TABLE to modify the geography. Examples and exercises that provide additional instruction from the July 2021 class have been posted online in a separate document.

• Families & Living Arrangements: Trends in household and family composition, describe characteristics of the residents of housing units, and show how they are related
  • Children
  • Families and Household Characteristics
    • Family Size and Type
    • Grandparents and Grandchildren
    • Household Size and Type
    • Relationship
  • Marital Status and Marital History
  • Same Sex Couples
• Housing: Data on the housing and construction industry, track homeownership rates, and statistics on the physical and financial characteristics of homes
  • Financial Characteristics
    • Housing Value & Purchase Price
    • Insurance, Utilities, and Other Fees
    • Mortgage Costs
    • Real Estate Taxes
    • Renter Costs
  • Health & Safety Characteristics
  • Home Ownership Rate
  • Housing Units
  • New & Existing Units
    • Condos & Co-ops
    • Manufactured & Mobile Homes
    • New Housing Construction & Sales
  • Occupancy Characteristics
    • Occupants per Room
    • Transportation
  • Owner/Renter (Householder) Characteristics
    • Owner/Renter Tenure
    • Year Householder Moved into the Unit
  • Physical Characteristics
    • Building Materials and Structural Features
    • Heating and Air Conditioning (HVAC)
    • Telephone, Computer, and Internet Access
    • Types of Rooms
    • Units and Stories in Structure
    • Water, Sewage, and Plumbing Facilities
    • Year Structure Built
  • Vacancy
    • Vacancy Characteristics
    • Vacancy Rates

HUD User Datasets

Produced by: US Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
Geographic coverage: Varies by data set
Dates of coverage:

There is an extensive collection of reports and data sets, including income limits, rent adjustment factors, program participation data, and HUD sponsored research studies data.

• Income Limits
• Fair Market Rents
• Low Income Housing Tax Credits
• Picture of Subsidized Households
• Point-in-Time Count and Housing Inventory Count
  • Count of sheltered and unsheltered people experiencing homelessness on a single night in January.
• Annual Homeless Assessment Report
• All datasets

American Housing Survey

Produced by: US Census Bureau & Housing and Urban Development (HUD)
Geographic coverage: Metro area, State (limited) and National 
Dates of coverage: 2011 to most current
Includes: Size (number of stories) and composition of the housing inventory, water leakage, and external building conditions, heating- and cooling- degree days and fuels, financial characteristics (monthly housing costs), neighborhood quality (presence or lack of crime, litter, or housing deterioration), repairs and mortgages, rent control and rent subsidies, why people moved out of their last dwelling, commutes to work.

• Create Custom AHS Tables

New Residential Construction Building Permits

Produced by: US Census Bureau
Geographic coverage: State, County, and MSA
Dates of coverage: 1996 to current minus 1-2 months

• Permits by State 
• Permits by Metropolitan Area 
• Permits by County or Place 

How Many People Are at Risk of Losing Their Homes in Your Neighborhood?

Produced by: New York times
Geographic coverage: Local, county, and state
Date of publication: July 29, 2021

2020 Census Tract Files

• 2020 Census maps for Pennsylvania Counties
  • Census tract maps
    • Allegheny County Census tracts map & text file
  • Census Blocks maps
    • Allegheny County Census Blocks map & text files
  • Legislative District maps
  • School District maps
• View an interactive Census map of by tracts for Pennsylvania
  • Zoom in to view Census tracts by location

TigerWeb

Produced by: US Census Bureau 

• Create a map that shows the overlay between different geographic areas
• What Census tracts can be found either partially or fully within a specific Zip Code (or Zip Code Tabulation Area, i.e. ZCTA)

Census Geocoder

Produced by: US Census Bureau 
About: How can I find the state, county, tract number, block group number and other geographic information of a particular address?

• Data.census.gov does not have an address search feature available. However, you can access geographic information, such as the state, county, tract number, block number, and block group number, about a particular address using the Census Geocoder.

2010 Census Reference Maps

• 2010 School District Reference Maps
  • School district reference maps for Pennsylvania Counties
• 2010 Tract Maps
• 2010 Tract Maps for Pennsylvania Counties
• 2010 Tract Reference Map: Allegheny County PA
  • DC10CT_C42003_000.pdf
    • Shows the entire county with place names and boundaries
    • Indicates coverage for the maps below
  • DC10CT_C42003_001.pdf
    • Northwest corner of the county
  • DC10CT_C42003_002.pdf
    • Northeast corner of the county
  • DC10CT_C42003_003.pdf
    • Southwest corner of the county
  • DC10CT_C42003_004.pdf
    • Southeast corner of the county

National Alliance to End Homelessness

Produced by: National Alliance to End Homelessness
Geographic coverage: National

Focus is on the US. Includes:

• Statistics
• Publications
  • State of Homelessness (2021 ed)
• Toolkits and Training Material

National Coalition for the Homeless

• Publications/reports