Social & Behavioral Determinants of Health Data

See also Economic Indicators.

See also Employment & Labor.

See also Housing/Homelessness.

Census Data: Explore Census Data

Produced by: US Census Bureau 
Geographic coverage: Local, County, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2000 to current
Instructions: Each topic below accesses all available tables for that specific topic. IF the table you select uses ACS 1-Year Estimates AND you want to view neighborhood-level data (by Census tract, ZIP Code approximations, etc.), change the product used (under the table number, top left above the data) to ACS 5-Year Estimates. Close the filter and table selection pane by clicking on the double left-facing carets. To modify geography, click the Geos icon in the table toolbar. 

• Locate Census geographies (county, Congressional District, Census blocks, Census tracts) by address
• Education: Information on a range of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment to school districts, costs and financing.
  • Educational Attainment
  • School Enrollment
    • Type of School
    • Vocational Training
• Families & Living Arrangements: Trends in household and family composition, describe characteristics of the residents of housing units, and show how they are related
  • Children
  • Families and Household Characteristics
    • Family Size and Type
    • Grandparents and Grandchildren
    • Household Size and Type
    • Relationship
  • Marital Status and Marital History
  • Same Sex Couples
• Health: Health statistics on insurance coverage, disability, fertility and other health issues
  • Disability
  • Fertility
  • Health Insurance
• Income & Poverty: Survey and census questions cover poverty, income, and wealth
  • Income & Earnings
  • Cash Assistance & Social Insurance
  • Earnings (Individuals)
  • Income (Households, Families, Individuals)
  • SNAP/Food Stamps
  • Excel file: FFIEC Aggregated Census Report for Allegheny County (Federal Financial Institutions Examination Council)
    • Census tract designations for income level
• Migration/Geographic Mobility: Statistics showing the movement of people within US from one location to another at various geographic levels
• Population & People
  • Age & Sex: Focusing on a population’s age and sex composition is one of the most basic ways to understand population change over time.
  • Ancestry
    • A complete list of all available ancestries can be found in a separate list.
  • Computer & Internet Use
    • Use this link to drill down by geography: American Community Survey 5-Year Est: TYPES OF COMPUTERS AND INTERNET SUBSCRIPTIONS
  • Language Spoken at Home
  • Older Population
  • Veterans
  • Counts, Estimates, & Projections
    • Civilian Population
    • Group Quarters Population
    • Household and Family
    • Military Population
    • Population Total
  • Native and Foreign Born
    • Citizenship
    • Native Born
    • Place of Birth
• Public Sector
  • Government Employment & Payroll
• Race and Ethnicity
  • American Indian/Alaska Native
  • Asian
  • Black or African American (any ethnicity)
  • Hispanic or Latino/Latina Origin: People who identify with the terms “Hispanic” or “Latino” are those who classify themselves in one of the specific Hispanic or Latino categories
• Voting and Registration

Quick Facts

Produced by: US Census Bureau 
Geographic coverage: Local, County, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: 2000 to current

• Pennsylvania Quick Facts (date of coverage varies, county and city level)
  • Compare PA and US data
• American Community Survet Data Wheel
  • Select the geographic area you want for comparison between it and the US
• Census Atlas of the United States (Historical data)
  • Has more than 800 maps using data from historical censuses as well as the 2000 census. Maps show county-level comparisons but no data is included.

Census Data Retrieval

Produced by: US Housing and Urban Development 
Geographic coverage: Local, County, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: 1970-2000

• State of the Cities Data System (SOCDS) (Housing & Urban Development, 1970's through most current available)
  • This interactive site pulls data from multiple federal agencies.

KIDS COUNT Data Center

Produced by: Annie E. Casey Foundation
Geographic coverage: City, County, State, and National level
Dates of coverage: Vary by topic

• Demographic
  • Age, race, ethnicity
• Economic well-being
  • Employment/income, public assistance, poverty
• Education
  •  School attendance, test scores
• Health indicators
  • CHIP enrollment, birth outcomes

Population & Housing Estimates

Produced by: US Census Bureau 
Geographic coverage: Varies by report
Dates of coverage: 1970 to current
About: Annual estimates for the U.S., states, counties, cities, etc. Components of population change (births, deaths and migration) for U.S., states and counties. 

• Population and Housing Unit Estimates Datasets
  • The vintage year of the dataset refers to the final year of the time series. These are static tables that can be downloaded into Excel.
• 2017 National Population Projections Tables: Alternative Scenarios
  • Summary tables
    • Projections of the Population and Annual Population Change by Alternative Immigration Scenario for the United States: 2017-2060 [<1.0MB; xls]
    • Projections of the Components of Population Change by Alternative Immigration Scenario for the United States: 2017-2060 [<1.0MB; xls]
    • Projections of the Population by Alternative Immigration Scenario, Race, and Hispanic Origin for the United States: 2020-2060 (numeric and percent in same file) [<1.0MB; xls]
    • Projections of the Population by Alternative Immigration Scenario and Age Group for the United States: 2020-2060 (numeric and percent in same file) [<1.0MB; xls]

Population Projections

Produced by: US Census Bureau
Geographic coverage: National, State
Dates of coverage: 2014-2060 (National); 2004-2030 (State)
About: This data is found on the CDC WONDER platform

• National includes: 
  • 2014 - 2060 Population Projections: By Year, Age, Sex, Race, and Ethnicity, produced by the Census Bureau in 2014.
  • 2014 - 2060 Population Changes by Race: Birth, Death, Migration Projections: By Year, Age, Sex, and Race, produced by the Census Bureau in 2014.
  • 2014 - 2060 Population Changes by Ethnicity: Birth, Death, Migration Projections: By Year, Age, Sex, and Ethnicity, produced by the Census Bureau in 2014.
• State includes:
  • 2004 - 2030 Population Projections: By Year, Age, Sex, and State, produced by the Census Bureau in 2005.

Bridged-Race Population Estimates

Produced by: US Census Bureau
Geographic coverage: National, State, and County
Dates of coverage: 1990-2019
About: This data is found on the CDC WONDER platform

"Race bridging refers to making data collected using one set of race categories consistent with data collected using a different set of race categories, to permit estimation and comparison of race-specific statistics at a point in time or over time." U.S. Census Populations With Bridged Race Categories

Data is available by: Race (4-categories), Ethnicity, Sex and Age (1-year or 5-year groups).

Single Race Population Estimates

Produced by: US CDC (WONDER)
Geographic coverage: National, State, and County
Dates of coverage: 1990-2019

Based on 1997 Office of Management and Budget (OMB) standards for the collection of data on race and ethnicity: American Indian or Alaska Native, Asian, Black or African American, Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander, White, More than one race.

Missouri Census Data Center

Produced by: Missouri Census Data Center
Geographic coverage: Varies by report
Dates of coverage: 2000 to current
Includes: American Community Survey, Census 2000, Census 2010
Build tables for:

• State/County Population Estimates by Age, Sex, Race, Ethnicity (1990-2019)
  • Pennsylvania State/County Population Estimates
• State/County Annual Population Change (2000-2019)
  • Allegheny County Annual Population Change
• State/County Population Trends with Demographics (1990-2019)
  • Allegheny County Population Trends with Demographics

List of all available ancestries

• 501 - Afghan (600)
• 502 - Albanian (100)
• 503 - Alsatian (000-001)
• 573 - American (939-994)
• 504 - Arab (All groups [400-415,417-418,421-430,435-481,490-499])
• 300 - Algerian (400)
• 506 - Egyptian (402-403)
• 507 - Iraqi (417-418)
• 508 - Jordanian (421-422)
• 302 - Kurdish (442)
• 509 - Lebanese (425-426)
• 357 - Libyan (404)
• 510 - Moroccan (406-407)
• 511 - Palestinian (465-467)
• 362 - Saudi Arabian (427)
• 512 - Syrian (429-430)
• 365 - Tunisian (408)
• 301 - Yemeni (435,470-471)
• 358 - Middle Eastern (490)
• 360 - North African (411)
• 505 - Arab/Arabic (495-499)
• 513 - Armenian (431-433)
• 514 - Assyrian/Chaldean/Syriac (482-489)
• 515 - Australian (800-802)
• 516 - Austrian (003-004)
• 350 - Azerbaijani (101)
• 517 - Basque (005-007)
• 351 - Belarusian (102)
• 518 - Belgian (008-010)
• 519 - Brazilian (360-364)
• 520 - British (011-014)
• 521 - Bulgarian (103)
• 500 - Cajun (936-938)
• 522 - Canadian (931-934)
• 352 - Carpatho Rusyn (104-106)
• 523 - Celtic (099)
• 524 - Croatian (109-110)
• 525 - Czech (111-113)
• 526 - Czechoslovakian (114)
• 527 - Danish (020, 023)
• 528 - Dutch (021, 029)
• 529 - English (015, 022)
• 530 - Estonian (115-116)
• 531 - European (195)
• 532 - Finnish (024-025)
• 533 - French (except Basque) (016, 026-028, 083)
• 534 - French Canadian (935)
• 354 - Georgian (170)
• 535 - German (032-045)
• 355 - German Russian (122-123)
• 536 - Greek (046-048)
• 537 - Guyanese (370-374)
• 538 - Hungarian (125-126)
• 539 - Icelander (049)
• 540 - Iranian (416)
• 541 - Irish (050, 081)
• 542 - Israeli (419-420)
• 543 - Italian (030-031, 051-074)
• 544 - Latvian (128)
• 545 - Lithuanian (129)
• 546 - Luxemburger (077)
• 547 - Macedonian (130-131)
• 548 - Maltese (078)
• 359 - New Zealander (803)
• 549 - Norwegian (082)
• 550 - Pennsylvania German (929)
• 551 - Polish (142-143)
• 552 - Portuguese (084-086)
• 361 - Romani (124)
• 553 - Romanian (144-147)
• 554 - Russian (148-151)
• 555 - Scandinavian (098)
• 556 - Scotch-Irish (087)
• 557 - Scottish (088)
• 558 - Serbian (152)
• 559 - Slavic (178-180)
• 560 - Slovak (153)
• 561 - Slovene (154-155)
• 562 - Subsaharan African (All groups [500-599])
• 305 - Cameroonian (508)
• 564 - Cabo Verdean (510-511)
• 306 - Congolese (515-516)
• 565 - Ethiopian (522-524)
• 353 - Gambian (527)
• 566 - Ghanaian (529)
• 356 - Guinean (530)
• 307 - Kenyan (534)
• 308 - Liberian (541)
• 567 - Nigerian (553-560)
• 309 - Senegalese (564)
• 310 - Sierra Leonean (566)
• 311 - Somali (568)
• 568 - South African (570-573)
• 312 - Sudanese (576-580)
• 363 - Tanzanian (582-584)
• 364 - Togolese (586)
• 367 - Ugandan (588)
• 370 - Zimbabwean (593)
• 563 - African (599)
• 569 - Swedish (089-090)
• 570 - Swiss (091-093, 095-096)
• 571 - Turkish (434)
• 572 - Ukrainian (171-174)
• 574 - Welsh (097)
• 575 - West Indian (All groups [300-359], excluding Hispanic origin groups)
• 313 - Antiguan and Barbudan (325)
• 576 - Bahamian (300)
• 577 - Barbadian (301)
• 578 - Belizean (302)
• 579 - British West Indian (321-331)
• 580 - Dutch West Indian (310-313)
• 314 - Grenadian (329)
• 581 - Haitian (336-359)
• 582 - Jamaican (308-309)
• 316 - St Lucia Islander (331)
• 315 - St. Vincent and Grenadine Islander (330)
• 583 - Trinidadian and Tobagonian (314-316)
• 366 - U.S. Virgin Islander (317-320)
• 584 - West Indian (335)
• 368 - Uzbek (169)
• 585 - Yugoslavian (176-177)

2020 Census Tract Files

• 2020 Census maps for Pennsylvania Counties
  • Census tract maps
    • Allegheny County Census tracts map & text file
  • Census Blocks maps
    • Allegheny County Census Blocks map & text files
  • Legislative District maps
  • School District maps
• View an interactive Census map of by tracts for Pennsylvania
  • Zoom in to view Census tracts by location

TigerWeb

Produced by: US Census Bureau 

• Create a map that shows the overlay between different geographic areas
• What Census tracts can be found either partially or fully within a specific Zip Code (or Zip Code Tabulation Area, i.e. ZCTA)

Census Geocoder

Produced by: US Census Bureau 
About: How can I find the state, county, tract number, block group number and other geographic information of a particular address?

• Data.census.gov does not have an address search feature available. However, you can access geographic information, such as the state, county, tract number, block number, and block group number, about a particular address using the Census Geocoder.

2010 Census Reference Maps

• 2010 School District Reference Maps
  • School district reference maps for Pennsylvania Counties
• 2010 Tract Maps
• 2010 Tract Maps for Pennsylvania Counties
• 2010 Tract Reference Map: Allegheny County PA
  • DC10CT_C42003_000.pdf
    • Shows the entire county with place names and boundaries
    • Indicates coverage for the maps below
  • DC10CT_C42003_001.pdf
    • Northwest corner of the county
  • DC10CT_C42003_002.pdf
    • Northeast corner of the county
  • DC10CT_C42003_003.pdf
    • Southwest corner of the county
  • DC10CT_C42003_004.pdf
    • Southeast corner of the county