Social & Behavioral Determinants of Health Data

Sexual orientation-- gender nonconforming, being asexual, gay, lesbian, or bisexual-- really falls under the category of Biology and Genetics of the Determinants of Health. However, there is evidence supporting the health disparities that exist as a result of sexual orientation.

• Cause of Illness Data

Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: State level and MMSA level data
Dates of coverage:  1995 through current
About: BRFSS is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services. Data gathered include sexual orientation.
Data resources: 

• BRFSS Prevalence Data & Data Analysis Tools
• Leading Indicators for Chronic Diseases and Risk Factors using BRFSS Data
• BRFSS Explore by Location (States & MMSAs)
  • Use this link to go directly to the page in which you can select the location-- either a state or a Metropolitan/Micropolitan Statistical Area (MMSA).
• BRFSS Prevalence Trends & Data by Location and Data by Topic
  • Use this link to access data by topic
• BRFSS Web Enable Analysis Tool
  • This link allows users to conduct real-time state-level data analysis. You can do a cross-tabulation which produces frequencies or percentages for one or more variables, in one or more tables, or you can do a logistic regression which is a calculation of the contribution of one or more predictors on a particular outcome, such as "Risk factor: At risk for binge drinking."
• BRFSS Questionnaires

  • The BRFSS questionnaire is designed by a working group of BRFSS state coordinators and CDC staff. The questionnaire is approved by all state coordinators. Currently, the questionnaire has three parts: 1) the core component, consisting of the fixed core, rotating core, and emerging core, 2) optional modules, and 3) state-added questions. All health departments must ask the core component questions without modification in wording, however, the modules are optional.

Youth Risk Behavioral Surveillance Survey

Produced by: Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: Local school district, State, and National level data
Dates of coverage: 1991 to most current available
About: The Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (YRBSS)  is a system of surveys, including: a national school-based survey conducted by CDC and state, territorial, tribal; and local surveys conducted by state, territorial, and local education and health agencies and tribal governments monitors. Data gathered include sexual orientation.

• YRBSS Results
  • High school students
  • Middle school students
• Youth Online
  • Customize tables based on geography, behavior, race/ethnicity, and grade level.
• YRBSS Explorer: Explore Youth Risk Behavior Survey Questions
  • Data visualization tool for the most current data.
• YRBSS Results
  • View the most current national, state, and local school district results.
• YRBS Data Summary & Trends (2009 to most current)
  •  PDF reports that track trends at the national level.
• YRBS Questionnaires

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT)

Produced by: US Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Geographic coverage: National level
Dates of coverage:  2013 to most current

Sexual Orientation Information Statistics

Produced by: US Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC)
Geographic coverage: National level
Dates of coverage:  2014 to most current available
About: PDF tables from the National Health Information Survey (NHIS)

LGBTQ Data

Produced by: Dr. Randell Sell, ScD, Drexel University School of Public Health
About: Dr. Sell has created a meta-site of resources that provide LGBTQ+ data. As time permits, key resources will be added to this page.

The Trevor Project 

• National estimate of LGBTQ youth who seriously consider suicide
• National survey of LGBTQ youth mental health (2019)